All Blacks sweep IRB Awards

Last updated 08:51 02/12/2010

Relevant offers

All Blacks

Lions Tour: Regional New Zealand's tinge of sadness British and Irish Lions depart for tour of New Zealand Lions tour: The inside story of the Blackwash, the worst Lions tour ever New All Blacks rugby badge revealed ahead of British and Irish Lions tour Lions tour: Gatland's squad 'too Welsh' to defeat All Blacks, says Eddie Jones Fingers crossed for speedy Beauden Barrett recovery as Hurricanes headaches increase despite win in Pretoria Billeting and beers: Provincial New Zealand welcomes the touring Lions' return to the grassroots Mark Reason: The Lions can't win without Billy Vunipola Lions tour: The day Warren Gatland scored a try to help smash the team he now coaches Owen Franks' importance to the All Blacks can be seen in the number on his back

All Blacks captain Richie McCaw has been named the International Rugby Board's player of the year.

The 29-year-old flanker is the first player to receive the prestigious accolade three times, as well as in consecutive years, cementing his position as one of the greats of the game.

The accolade completes a hat-trick of IRB Awards for New Zealand with the All Blacks named IRB Team of the Year 2010 in association with Emirates Airline and Graham Henry unveiled as IRB Coach of the Year for a record fourth time.

Henry has previously been named IRB Coach of the Year in 2005, 2006 and 2008 and New Zealand are named IRB Team of the Year for the fourth time in six years.

McCaw faced stiff competition for the Player of the Year Award with teammate Mils Muliaina, South Africa's Victor Matfield, Imanol Harinordoquy from France and rising young Australia stars David Pocock and Kurtley Beale all performing superbly during the year.

However, it was McCaw, who captained the world's number one ranked team to a record of 13 wins from 14 matches during 2010, including a Tri-Nations title and an unbeaten end of year tour to Europe, that consistently impressed the IRB's awards panel with some outstanding performances to cement his stature as one of rugby's great leaders.

"It's been a good year and everyone has made a huge effort, from the coaches right through all the players. It's been a lot of fun as well to work with quality players, and I just love playing rugby and especially international rugby," said McCaw, along with Muliaina now the most capped All Black of all time.

"This award is very special but wouldn't happen without an exceptional team who are good mates, and that's something I am equally proud of."

IRB Coach of the Year Graham Henry added: "I am very proud to be awarded this honour again. The award reflects the hard work of the team, and I am delighted the All Blacks have also been named IRB Team of the Year."

"It is also an award for team manager Darren Shand who does a fabulous job, and for the exceptional coaching team who work with me. I am extremely fortunate to have a group of guys who are exceptionally good at what they do."

"Richie McCaw is a phenomenal captain. He just gets better and better the more he does it and the team now is a very experienced side with him and Mils on 94 caps each, and nine players in the side with more than 50 caps," added Henry.

The IRB Player of the Year Award is selected by the IRB Awards independent panel of judges, comprising former internationals with over 500 Test caps between them. Will Greenwood, Gavin Hastings, Raphaël Ibanez, Francois Pienaar, Agustín Pichot, Scott Quinnell, Tana Umaga, Paul Wallace and convenor John Eales watched over 78 hours of action from 59 matches, awarding points to the three players they thought stood out in each match.

"Rugby is fortunate to have a player and person of the calibre of Richie McCaw. He is an outstanding captain, a world class player and a role model for our sport. In winning the Award three times, Richie has truly cemented his place right up there amongst some of the greats," said Eales.

Ad Feedback

IRB Chairman Bernard Lapasset added: "It has been a compelling year of international Rugby as we count down to what promises to be a special Rugby World Cup 2011 in New Zealand."

"The All Blacks have consistently performed to the highest standards this year, they are number one in the IRB World Rankings and have lost just one match in 2010. Richie McCaw, Graham Henry and the entire New Zealand team are deserving recipients of these prestigious awards."

The accolades cap a phenomenal year for New Zealand Rugby with Julian Savea winning the IRB Junior Player of the Year in June and Carla Hohepa named IRB Women's Personality of the Year in September after a magnificent Women's Rugby World Cup.

The other IRB Awards in association with Emirates Airline to be presented in 2010 include Samoa's Mikaele Pesamino as the IRB Sevens Player of the Year in May, IRB Development Award winner Brian O'Shea in October and Colin High, who received as the IRB Referee Award for Distinguished Service last month. The Spirit of Rugby Award was presented on Saturday to Virreyes Rugby Club in Buenos Aires, Argentina.

Previous Winners of the IRB Player of the Year Award:
2009 - Richie McCaw (New Zealand)
2008 - Shane Williams (Wales)
2007 - Bryan Habana (South Africa)
2006 - Richie McCaw (New Zealand)
2005 - Dan Carter (New Zealand)
2004 - Schalk Burger (South Africa)
2003 - Jonny Wilkinson (England)
2002 - Fabien Galthié (France)
2001 - Keith Wood (Ireland)

Previous Winners of IRB Team of the Year Award:
2009 - South Africa
2008 - New Zealand
2007 - South Africa
2006 - New Zealand
2005 - New Zealand
2004 - South Africa
2003 - England
2002 - France
2001 - Australia

Previous Winners of IRB Coach of the Year Award:
2009 - Declan Kidney (Ireland)
2008 - Graham Henry (New Zealand)
2007 - Jake White (South Africa)
2006 - Graham Henry (New Zealand)
2005 - Graham Henry (New Zealand)
2004 - Jake White (South Africa)
2003 - Clive Woodward (England)
2002 - Bernard Laporte (France)
2001 - Rod Macqueen (Australia)

- Stuff


Special offers
Opinion poll

Who was the best-performed All Blacks forward on the northern tour?

Dane Coles

Nathan Harris

Keven Mealamu

Wyatt Crockett

Charlie Faumuina

Ben Franks

Owen Franks

Joe Moody

Brodie Retallick

Luke Romano

Jeremy Thrush

Patrick Tuipulotu

Sam Whitelock

Sam Cane

Jerome Kaino

Richie McCaw

Liam Messam

Kieran Read

Vitor Vito

Vote Result

Featured Promotions

Sponsored Content