England's Flood cleared on tip tackle charge

JUSTIN PALMER
Last updated 12:07 09/01/2013
Toby Flood
Getty Images
IN THE CLEAR: Leicester flyhalf Toby Flood will be free to play for England in the Six Nations after being cleared of a tip-tackle charge.

Relevant offers

International

Wallabies outclassed by All Blacks and have forgotten how to compete Bledisloe Cup 2016: There is a problem that dwarfs the flashpoints English Premier rugby boss slates 'unsustainable' Lions tour of New Zealand Pumas snatch win over South Africa with late penalty Recap: Pumas v Springboks - Rugby Championship Round 2 Sonny Bill Williams slams Wallabies coach Michael Cheika after All Blacks win Australia set to complain about All Blacks coach Steve Hansen meeting with referee Wallabies bring niggle but little else as All Blacks keep calm and secure Bledisloe Marc Hinton: Lion-hearted Warren Gatland faces harsh realities of schedule from hell Digging the data: How the All Blacks have dominated the Wallabies throughout history

England and Leicester flyhalf Toby Flood was cleared today by an RFU disciplinary panel of making an alleged dangerous tip tackle on Worcester's Andy Goode in an English Premiership match.

"Whilst we found that the elements of a dangerous tackle were made out, after very careful analysis we could not be satisfied, to that standard required, that the dynamics of the incident had not been caused, or contributed to, significantly by the involvement of other players from both teams," disciplinary panel chairman Jeremy Summers said in a statement.

Flood had been cited following Leicester's 19-14 victory on Friday.

Ad Feedback

- Reuters

Special offers
Opinion poll

Who was the better Springboks lock?

Bakkies Botha

Victor Matfield

Vote Result

Featured Promotions

Sponsored Content