Taranaki duo to show their stuff at sevens camp

Last updated 00:00 29/10/2007

Relevant offers


Game on for New Zealand’s sole gay rugby side Match-fixing in South Africa rugby investigated Tries galore in Aussie comp's opening match Referee Kelly a step closer to an Olympics spot Black Ferns open World Cup campaign strongly Sir Colin Meads pleased with IRB recognition Women's sevens series grows by two events Black Ferns aura of invincibility just 'not there' NZ Black Ferns wearing the favourites tag well All Blacks great Kevin Skinner dies at age 86

Taranaki's Nathan Hohaia and Jayden Hayward have been included in a 24-strong squad for a four-day national sevens camp in Mt Maunganui.

The camp, which doubles as a trial for New Zealand sevens coach Gordon Tietjens, started yesterday.

It is the first of two before Tietjens names a squad of 12 for the opening tournaments of the 2007-08 IRB Sevens World Series, to be played in Dubai and South Africa in December.

Hohaia emerged as one of Taranaki's most attacking players in this year's Air New Zealand Cup competition, while Hayward starred in the championship- winning Taranaki second XV side.

The training squad includes Afeleke Pelenise and DJ Forbes, as well as 2007 New Zealand under-19 representative Israel Dagg.

Tietjens said he had watched the players during the Air New Zealand Cup and other competitions and they all deserved a chance to push for national selection.

"This camp will be their introduction to the national sevens environment, but I am sure that they will adapt quickly."

New Zealand sevens 2006-07 players Scott Waldrom (Taranaki) and Adam Thomson (Otago) will not be attending the trial because of their recent Air New Zealand Cup commitments and likely inclusions in Super 14 squads to be named on Wednesday.

Other 2006-07 squad members Charles Baxter, Aden Dewes, Jarek Goebel and Willie Rickards will be absent because of injury.

NEW ZEALAND SEVENS (trial squad): Tomasi Cama (Manawatu), Edwin Cocker (Auckland), Daniel Crichton (Counties-Manukau), Israel Dagg (Hawke's Bay), DJ Forbes (Auckland), Jayden Hayward (Taranaki), Karne Hesketh (Otago), Nathan Hohaia (Taranaki), Jason Hona (Bay of Plenty), Nigel Hunt (Wellington), Tafai Ioasa (Hawke's Bay), James Kamana (Waikato), Solomon King (Bay of Plenty), Zar Lawrence (North Harbour), Afeleke Pelenise (Tasman), Lote Raikabula (Hawke's Bay), Rene Ranger (Northland), Armyn Sanders (Waikato), Chris Small (Canterbury), Nick Thomson (Canterbury), Alex Tulou (Wellington), Albert Vulivuli (Waikato), Victor Vito (Wellington) and Steven Yates (Canterbury).

Ad Feedback

- Taranaki Daily News

Special offers

Featured Promotions

Sponsored Content