Baby Blacks look the business

Last updated 20:09 05/06/2008

Relevant offers


Muliaina makes winning start with Connacht Hammett making his Mark at the Cardiff Blues Former All Blacks to take charge of under-20s 2016 French rugby final moved to Barcelona Inside ex All Blacks coach Mitchell's 'journey' NZ Maori rugby jersey pays tribute to Japan Wild Knights in Japan suiting Deans' lifestyle Former Blue Bulls player guilty of axe murders Tough start for Cardiff coach Mark Hammett RFU reaches World Cup deal with English clubs

Player familiarity should not be a problem for New Zealand when they open their account at the under-20 rugby junior world championship in Wales on Saturday (NZ time).

The New Zealand team, named to play Tonga in Cardiff, feature eight players who won last year's under-19 world championship final against South Africa.

They are captain Chris Smith, Ash Dixon, Paea Fa'anunu, Zac Guildford, Daniel Kirkpatrick, Peter Saili, Josh Townsend and Jackson Willison.

As well, six players named on the bench for Saturday played in that match, won 31-7 by New Zealand.

New Zealand's other pool matches in Wales are against Ireland and Argentina.

Co-coach Dave Rennie said his full squad were sure to get a run during the pool stages of the tournament.

"We play a game every four days and the full squad will get some game time during the pool part of the competition."

Rennie expects his team to be challenged up front by Tonga.

"Traditionally Tongan rugby teams have been strong in the forwards and we expect a similar approach from the team we will face on Saturday."

New Zealand: Zac Guildford (Hawke's Bay), Joe Hill (Wellington), Michael Harris (North Harbour), Jackson Willison (Waikato), Andre Taylor (Manawatu), Daniel Kirkpatrick (Wellington), Aaron Smith (Manawatu), Mathew Luamanu (Wellington), Hugh Reed (Hawke's Bay), Peter Saili (Auckland), Josh Townsend (Otago), Chris Smith (captain, North Harbour), Toby Smith (Waikato), Ash Dixon (Hawke's Bay), Paea Fa'anunu (Auckland). Reserves: Quentin MacDonald (Tasman), Ben Afeaki (North Harbour), Sam Whitelock (Canterbury), Luke Braid (Bay of Plenty), Grayson Hart (Auckland), Trent Renata (Waikato), Ryan Crotty (Canterbury).


Ad Feedback
Special offers

Featured Promotions

Sponsored Content