NZ Sevens Commonwealth Games trial team

Last updated 18:10 26/05/2014

Relevant offers


NZ sevens playmaker Augustine Pulu breaks arm in Sydney 7s NZ sevens team 'should face action for fielding eight players' New Zealand Sevens win Sydney tournament NZ seal the icing on the cake after overcoming Australia for pavlova rights Rieko Ioane scores after final hooter as New Zealand claim Sydney Sevens glory World Rugby says result will stand after New Zealand field eight players in Sydney Gasp! Sonny Bill Williams tells Quade Cooper to get new lungs for sevens Late Ardie Savea try sees New Zealand tie with Australia, top Sydney Sevens pool Henry Speight's airport meeting six years ago could lead to the Rio Olympics Sonny Bill Williams eyes possible sibling Olympic double as career highlight

Pita Ahki and Kurt Baker have been included in an extended 18-man New Zealand Sevens squad to prepare for the Commonwealth Games.

The Blues and Highlanders backs join Crusaders back Adam Whitelock, who played in the final two legs of the IRB Sevens World Series, as the Super Rugby players added to the contracted sevens players.

The players will head to Mount Maunganui next week for a four day training camp. A final squad of 12 will be named the following week.

Baker and Ahki were part of the New Zealand Sevens team when they won the sevens World Cup last year, while Baker was also involved in their victory at the Delhi Commonwealth Games in 2010.

"To go to a Commonwealth Games and do well you need players with experience,'' coach Gordon Tietjens said.

"I've selected three Super Rugby players who have played well for the team. Kurt Baker was important in terms of winning that gold medal in Delhi and Pita Ahki did well for the All Blacks Sevens in Russia so both are fine sevens players.

"Adam Whitelock was part of the very successful two tournaments in Glasgow and London in the World Series and he has done enough to press for a place to go to the Games as well."

New Zealand have never been beaten at the Commonwealth Games since the sports' inclusion in 1998.

In Glasgow they will be aiming for their fifth gold medal at the event.

Tietjens said competition for places in the team will be fierce.

"It's on the wish list for a lot of players to be part of a Commonwealth Games side so no doubt the camp next week will be very fierce in terms of competition and I expect to have a huge headache to pick the 12 players who I think can win us that gold medal, but it's a pleasant headache to have.
"I am expecting an energised and enthusiastic side when it assembles next week and am looking forward to it."

New Zealand face Scotland, Canada and Barbados in pool play in Glasgow.

Super Rugby players selected for the squad will be subject to their teams missing out on playoffs, which are held at the same time as the Commonwealth Games.

New Zealand Sevens squad: Pita Ahki, Kurt Baker, Tomasi Cama, Scott Curry, Ambrose Curtis, Sam Dickson, DJ Forbes, Jack Goodhue, Bryce Heem, Akira Ioane, Gillies Kaka, Ben Lam, Tim Mikkelson, Declan O'Donnell, Lote Raikabula, Sherwin Stowers, Joe Webber, Adam Whitelock.

Ad Feedback

- Stuff


Special offers
Opinion poll

What effect will a potential ban on booze at Rugby Sevens 2015 have on you?

I'd no longer go ... what's the point?

I'd buy a ticket, with rugby the priority again.

Ban or no ban, I'm still going.

I'd rather watch 'Wheel of Fortune' on a 24/7 loop than 7s.

Vote Result

Related story: Booze ban hovers over sevens

Featured Promotions

Sponsored Content