Sir Graham Henry cautioned over ref comments

Last updated 20:07 26/05/2013

Relevant offers

Super Rugby

Sharks take bite out of Rebels' cause From Nelson College to the Crusaders, Drummond and Havili realise their dream Todd Blackadder not writing off the Crusaders after they beat the competition leading Hurricanes Fijian flyer Nemani Nadolo runs hot as Crusaders roll the Hurricanes in Nelson Sam Cane to transfer form for Chiefs to leadership Highlanders and Crusaders to meet in Waimumu farmer Fred Booth's paddock Chiefs' McKenzie brothers to unite in their home province against the Highlanders Money not everything as All Blacks Julian Savea and Brodie Retallick stay put Chiefs' McKenzie brothers starting together for first time in home town of Invercargill Blues' George Moala found guilty of serious misconduct but escapes major punishment

Sir Graham Henry has pleaded guilty to a misconduct charge levelled by SANZAR  after he criticised the performance of match officials during the Blues Super Rugby loss to the Crusaders in Christchurch.

Henry, who is on the Blues coaching staff as an assistant for Sir John Kirwan, escaped with a reprimand and agreed to issue a public apology following a teleconference with SANZAR's duty judicial officer Jannie Lubbe tonight.

In the aftermath of the Blues 23-3 loss on May 18 Henry accused the television match official Keith Brown as being "blind" after a try to Frank Halai was disallowed while Crusaders prop Wyatt Crockett "got away with murder" at scrum time.

The competition's governing body laid the charge against the World Cup-winning coach after reviewing his comments and deciding they amounted to misconduct under rule 10 of the SANZAR disciplinary protocols and breached the SANZAR code of conduct.

Henry was scathing when addressing media at the Blues headquarters on Tuesday, arguing they should have been awarded a penalty try and that Halai definitely scored the five-pointer ruled out by New Zealand TMO Brown during the second half at AMI Stadium.

He labelled the no-try decision as "ludicrous" adding: "It was obvious to me. I don't know, he's probably a blind TMO is he?''

Henry also said the decision by referee New Zealand referee Glen Jackson to sinbin lock Calum Retallick for an intentional knock down was unfair -- the Crusaders, meanwhile, were seeking a penalty try which did not eventuate.

South African Lubbe said Henry had written to SANZAR and conceded that his remarks and comments were inappropriate and he apologised stating it was never his intention to offend the officials involved.

Taking into account Henry's "exemplary record as a rugby coach stretching over 40 years" Lubbe said the sanctions would amount to a reprimand and a requirement for Henry to issue a public apology to SANZAR plus Jackson and Brown.

Ad Feedback

- Stuff

Special offers
Opinion poll

Which 2015 NZ Super Rugby team looks best?

Blues

Chiefs

Crusaders

Highlanders

Hurricanes

Vote Result

Featured Promotions

Sponsored Content