2014: The World Cup of Dutch courage

Last updated 09:30 19/06/2014
Arjen Robben

NO DUTCH LUCK: Arjen Robben, of the Netherlands, and Jason Davidson, of Australia.

Related Links

Who will win the World Cup? Game on: My Football World Cup plan

Relevant offers

Who will win the Football World Cup?

2014: The World Cup of Dutch courage

Brazil 2014 will be the first time the Netherlands will finally lift the FIFA Football World Cup.

They have come close on three occasions.

In 1974 they were beaten in a pulsating final by Germany (2-1) in Munich.

Four years later they missed out again when Argentina, on its home ground, scored the deciding goal in extra time.

Just four years ago they were deservedly beaten by an extremely skilled Spain.

Time has passed and the Dutch have rejuvenated their playing squad. Few of the old hands are left, van der Vaart got injured just a few weeks ago.

The young players they have lack international experience, but the win on the second day in the current tournament has given them courage and belief in themselves.

They will see the big 5-1 win over the World Champions as a bright beginning for an unstoppable campaign. If they can beat Spain they can beat any other team on the planet.

Their coach Louis van Gaal has a reputation of being firm and fair with the players and he must be credited with turning The Dutch's fortunes around.

The Netherlands' best players are Arjen Robben, Wesley Sneijder and Robin van Persie. If they click, the future for this exciting squad looks bright.

View all contributions
Ad Feedback


Special offers

Featured Promotions

Sponsored Content