The Sir Peter Blake Leadership Awards

World-leading New Zealand physicist Paul Callaghan was last night awarded the Blake Medal for Leadership at a ceremony in Wellington. A further six people received "Emerging Leader Awards" in recognition of their potential as leaders. FEATURE

Callaghan, 59, is director of the MacDiarmid Institute for Advanced Materials and Nanotechnology at Victoria University of Wellington, and a world leader in the field of nuclear magnetic resonance; he is also well known for his regular discussions of science with Radio New Zealand broadcaster Kim Hill.

He was last year named a Principal Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit, the highest honour granted.

The six emerging leaders were:

Tim O'Connor, 39, rector (headmaster) of Palmerston North Boys' High School.

Steven Hall, 42, school director at the Outward Bound Trust of New Zealand.

Shelley Campbell, 40, chief executive of Waikato Primary Health.

Dr Justin Vaughan, 39, chief executive of New Zealand Cricket, and director of medical technology company BrainZ Instruments Ltd.

Andrew Grant, 41, commanding officer of the Navy frigate, HMNZS Te Kaha.

Annette Fale, inaugural general manager of the Halogen Foundation, an organisation dedicated to encouraging schoolage children to pursue life as leaders.

Last year's Blake Medallist was Warehouse founder Stephen Tindall; the inaugural 2005 medal went to former ANZ-National Bank CEO Sir John Anderson.

Last night's ceremony was part of "New Zealand Leadership Week" (July 28August 3) which will see a string of events around the country.


Sunday Star Times