Stratford to host new-look regional dairy industry awards

Last updated 08:01 01/11/2012

Relevant offers

The new-look 2013 Taranaki regional competition of the New Zealand Dairy Industry Awards will be launched in Stratford next Thursday.

Entries for the Taranaki Sharemilker/Equity Farmer of the Year, Farm Manager of the Year and Dairy Trainee of the Year are being accepted at from today.

Next Thursday's Taranaki launch will give prospective entrants the opportunity to learn what the competitions entail. They will also be able to talk to and ask questions of the 2012 Taranaki winners, Dairy Trainee of the Year Mark Duynhoven, Farm Manager of the Year Thomas Higgins and Sharemilker/ Equity Farmers of the Year James and Rebecca Van Den Brand.

Kate Murdoch, who is convening the regional competition for the first time after she and husband Aaron won the region's Sharemilker/Equity Farmer of the Year title in 2011, says the 2013 awards dinner will be held at a new venue, the TSB Hub in Hawera, to meet the demand for seats.

Taranaki was also offering an entry incentive of a $500 travel voucher. Everyone who entered and completed the judging process would be in the draw for the voucher.

A national early entry incentive of three Honda XR125 Duster farm bikes valued at $4000 was offered to those who entered online before December 1, with one farm bike to be won in each contest. Stratford dairy trainee Brett Sampson won a bike last year. Entries close on December 20.

Murdoch said there were considerable benefits to entering the contest.

"The awards give people the opportunity to benchmark themselves and their farm business, increase their profile within the dairy industry, network with like-minded people and make friends for life. The judging process will also give feedback to help them grow and develop."

The Taranaki launch of the New Zealand Dairy Awards will be on Thursday, November 8, at 7pm in the Stratford Memorial Hall.

Ad Feedback

- Taranaki Daily News

Special offers
Opinion poll

Was the weekend's rain welcome relief for your garden/farm?

Not at all - need far more

Sort of, plants/crops got a reasonable drenching

Yes - everything is looking fresh again

Wish the rain would stay away till May

Vote Result

Related story: Yesterday's drizzle no drought breaker for Wellington, Hawke's Bay

Featured Promotions

Sponsored Content

TDN dailynews long2

Follow the Taranaki Daily News on Twitter

Get Taranaki's frequent news and sport updates

Choose an iconic Taranaki photo as wallpaper for your computer

Computer wallpaper

Choose an iconic Taranaki photo as wallpaper for your computer

Night Sky

Night Sky

Astronomer Tom Whelan explains what is in the Taranaki heavens for each month.