Citizens receive awards

23:42, Jul 18 2014

Alongside Margaret Hurley, 2014 Citizen's awards recipients in New Plymouth last night were:

Clive Pryme (Waitara): Served on the Waitara Community Board from 1992 to 1995 and was a North Ward Councillor for New Plymouth District from 1995 to 2004.

Barry Styles (New Plymouth): Has been part of the Rotary Club of Fitzroy for 22 years and is a two-term president.

John Howes (New Plymouth): Has been the secretary of the North Taranaki Community Arts Council since 1992, and the leader of the New Plymouth Orchestra for more than 25 years.

Jean Dobbs (Inglewood): Moved to Inglewood 16 years ago and since then has been a member of St John in the town. In total, she has been with St John for more than 30 years.

Thelma Luxton (Waitara): Became a charter member of Soroptimist in 1984 and has served as president, secretary and treasurer.


Joe Davison (New Plymouth): For almost 40 years, Davidson has been Yachting New Zealand's safety inspector and ensured the safety of boats heading to sea.

Bruce Gilmour (New Plymouth): Took on the role of Host Workforce Manager for the Rugby World Cup 2011 in Taranaki as a volunteer.

Graham Cochrane (New Plymouth): Has been involved with CCS Disability Action for more than 40 years.

Stewart Erb (New Plymouth): Has been part of the Taranaki Rugby Supporters Club for 25 years.

Jillian Suthon (New Plymouth): For an outstanding contribution to voluntary services in New Plymouth.

Taranaki Daily News