Taranaki team named

06:37, Aug 28 2011

Taranaki rugby coach Colin Cooper has made just one change to the starting side for tomorrow's Ranfurly Shield match against Hawke's Bay.

All Blacks lock Jarrad Hoeata comes in at blindside flanker for Chris Walker, who drops out of the 23-man squad.

Apart from Hoeata's inclusion, Cooper has stuck with the same side that defeated Southland 15-12 to lift the Shield in Invercargill on Wednesday night.

Fullback Kurt Baker was anticipated to come into the starting side, with Andre Taylor shifting to the wing, but Cooper has kept faith with young outside backs Jackson Ormond and Frazier Climo  two of the star performers in the Shield victory.

The Taranaki players had a light training at Yarrow Stadium this morning.

A crowd of about 18,000 is expected for the match.


The only changes Hawke's Bay co-coach Peter Russell has made to his team from Wednesday night's loss to Northland see regular openside flanker Karl Lowe replace injured captain Mike Coman at No 8 and Adam Bradey replace Lowe.

Former All Black lock Bryn Evans, who missed the Northland game with a virus, returns and will captain the side.

His return forces Maselino Paulino back to the subs bench which means Ashton Johnson misses out on the 23.

Russell had hoped to get the services of All Blacks fullback Israel Dagg but he appears not to have made the trip across the Tasman from Brisbane.

Kick-off tomorrow is at 4.35pm.

Taranaki: Andre Taylor, Jackson Ormond, Willie Rickards, Jayden Hayward, Frazier Climo, Beauden Barrett, Tyson Keats, Ben Souness, Jarrad Hoeata, Scott Waldrom, Craig Clarke (captain), James Broadhurst, Shane Cleaver, Laurence Corlett, Michael Bent. Reserves, Timo Tutavaha, Carl Carmichael, James Broadhurst, Samuela Vunisa, Brett Goodin, Jack Cameron, Frazier Climo, Willie Ioane.

Hawke's Bay: Mark Jackman, Richard Buckman, Tu Umaga-Marshall, Gillies Kaka, Andrew Horrell, Daniel Kirkpatrick, Chris Eaton, Karl Lowe; Adam Bradey, Bryn Evans (captain), Brodie Retallick, Trent Boswell-Wakefield; Ben Tameifuna, Hikairo Forbes, Kas Lealamanua. Reserves, Danny Logan, Brendon Edmonds, Jodi Allen, Maselino Paulino, Hugh Reed, Isaac Paewai, Tua Saseve, Tino Nemani.

Taranaki Daily News