Borrows voted top Taranaki MP

Last updated 05:00 04/12/2012
tdn chest stand
Chester Borrows

Relevant offers

Taranaki's MPs have been given mixed reviews in the latest Trans-Tasman political ratings.

The political newsletter's annual "roll-call" looks at how each politician has performed over the year and ranks them on a scale from one to 10.

None of the region's politicians scored particularly highly, but only Maori Party MP Tariana Turia lost points on her last year's ranking.

National Whanganui MP Chester Borrows was Taranaki's top rating MP, improving by half a point, from six to 6.5.

"His ministerial ranking belies the responsibilities he has been given with reform of the courts system. His experience as a former police officer shows, and he knows what he's talking about. Media appreciates his straight answers," Trans-Tasman said.

New Plymouth MP Jonathan Young was the most improved, going from four to five points.

"After a shaky first term has looked more comfortable around the House," the ratings said.

Taranaki King Country MP Shane Ardern stayed on four points and Labour list MP Andrew Little came in at five points in his first appearance on the roll call.

Ms Turia, who was the highest-ranking Taranaki politician in 2011, still has the second-highest ranking even after falling 1.5 points from 7.5 to six.

"Without her it is hard to see the Maori Party surviving. The question is whether the positive aspects of Whanau Ora get submerged by the negative headlines the NZ First leader stirs up."

Attorney-General Christopher Finlayson was named politician of the year, beating off challenges from Prime Minister John Key and Green co-leader Russel Norman.

The judges said Mr Finlayson, who is also Treaty of Waitangi Negotiations Minister, had "given away a national park to Maori, and no-one seems to mind much. That's pretty good going".

They gave him eight out of 10 for his performance this year, the same as Mr Key and Dr Norman.

The top five were Christopher Finlayson, Russel Norman, John Key, Bill English and Gerry Brownlee. And worst were John Banks, Kanwaljit Singh Bakshi, Rajen Prasad, Hekia Parata and Catherine Delahunty.

Ad Feedback

- Taranaki Daily News

Special offers
Opinion poll

What's your expectation of former tropical cyclone Pam?

To hit East Cape and Hawke's Bay with substantial punch

Heavy rain and wind, but no more

A mild storm at most

A fizzer

Vote Result

Related story: Cyclone Pam hits New Zealand

Featured Promotions

Sponsored Content

Follow the Taranaki Daily News on Twitter

Get Taranaki's frequent news and sport updates

TDN North Taranaki Midweek

The North Taranaki Midweek's online

Get your mid week news fix

TDN South Taranaki Star

South Taranaki Star online

Get your South Taranaki news online