Biggest grant to Waitara church

Waitara's Knox Church was the biggest beneficiary in the TSB Community Trust's eighth funding round for the 2012-13 financial year.

The church received $47,000 to go towards audio equipment and lighting for its new building.

More than $516,000 was paid out by the trust to 69 organisations and individuals, while 10 pledged grants will also be given once applicants meet a certain criteria.

Other notable grants were to Taranaki Hockey which received $36,225 and the Te Puna Trust which received $25,000.

The Te Puna Trust was established in 2009 to reduce the offending rate and improve the life outcomes of young people in Taranaki.

The money received will go towards operational costs and a vehicle.

Kaponga Primary School received $25,000 to build a fitness circuit. Puketapu Primary also received $25,000 and will build an "Xtreme Fitness" playground for students.

The full list of recipients in the TSB Community Trust's eighth funding round for 2012-13 is:


Knox Church Waitara $47,000; Salt & Pepper Collectors Club - Taranaki $200; Country Women's Institute - Lower Mangorei $200; Opunake Volunteer Fire Brigade $700; NZ Society of Genealogists - Waitara Branch $350; GGANZ Rotorangi Girl Guides $1700; Douglas Hall Society $350; Tikorangi Community Centre $350; Creative Fibre New Plymouth $200; Opunake Embroiderers Guild $200; Stratford Creative Fibre Group $200; Waitara Machine Knitters Club $200; New Plymouth Cake Decorators Guild $200; Stratford Women's Club $350; Okato RSA $350; RSA Women's Section - New Plymouth $350; Taranaki Community Emergency Response Team $2800; Age Concern Taranaki $700; Move It Or Lose It Taranaki $400; Waitara Senior Citizens Inc $700; Rural Women Stratford $200; YMCA - New Plymouth $10,000.


Taranaki Society of Arts $1400; New Plymouth Country Line Dancing $350; Cornish Association of NZ - Taranaki Branch $350; Waitara Railway Preservation Society $700; Eltham and Districts Historical Society $2300; Everybody's Theatre Society Inc $1000; Taranaki Children's Choir $400.


Waitara Playcentre $8750; Merrilands Playgroup $3200; Auroa School $30,000; Bell Block School $30,000; Devon Intermediate School $30,000; Eltham Primary School $2100; Kaponga Primary School $25,000; Mokoia School $2100; Puketapu Primary School BoT $25,000; St Pius X School - BoT $2100; Naumai - South Taranaki Toastmasters $350.


Taranaki Community Health Trust $75,000.


Te Rei Bigham-Dudley - Basketball $500.


Normanby Amateur Athletic Club $400; Sport Taranaki $110,000; Stratford Badminton Club $400; Taranaki Badminton Association $2800; New Plymouth Basketball Association $1400; Inglewood Bowling Club $800; Inglewood Cricket Club $10,000; Inglewood Croquet Club $400; Eltham Darts Club $400; NZ Sheep Dog Trial Association - Taranaki Centre $400; Taranaki District Seniors' Golf Association Inc $400; Taranaki Hockey Federation $36,225; Cardiff Indoor Bowling Club $400; Kahui Rahotu Indoor Bowling Club $400; Merrilands Indoor Bowling Club $400; Tikorangi Indoor Bowling Club $400; Flyers Swim Squad $400; Opunake Tennis Club $400.


Community Housing Action Taranaki $1000; Karen Cornelia Trust/A House For Karen $5000; Sunshine Trust $700; Taranaki Disabled Drivers Assessment Centre $700; Riding For The Disabled - Hawera $1400; Stroke Support Group - South Taranaki $700; Taranaki Safer Centre $2800; Big Brothers Big Sisters of Taranaki Charitable Trust $5000; Te Puna Trust $25,000.

Taranaki Daily News