Andrew Judd mayor of New Plymouth

23:42, Oct 12 2013
Andrew Judd
New Plymouth mayor Andrew Judd

New Plymouth Mayor Harry Duynhoven has been dumped in humiliating fashion.

The one term mayor was soundly beaten at the polls by two term councillor Andrew Judd, who secured 16,883 votes to Mr Duynhoven's 7677.

As Mr Judd was the highest polling councillor but  is now mayor the 11th ranked New Plymouth city ward candidate Howie Tamati has just managed to sneak back on.

But it will be a different looking council table he finds himself at.  Former detective Grant Coward was voters second most popular choice for council netting 11,054 votes. He joins Len Houwers, Keith Allum, Richard Handley, Murray Chong and Inglewood's Richard Jordan as new comers. 

Taranaki favourite John "Horse" McLeod has been returned as has the popular Shaun Biesiek. Councillors Heather Dodunski, Craig McFarlane and Marie Pearce also have another three years.

New Plymouth district voters have also returned two former councillors to the table with Gordon Brown and Waitara's Colin Johnston getting another shot.  On the other hand high profile councillors Sherril George, Phil Quinney and Lance Girling-Butcher have been dumped.

In South Taranaki Mayor Ross Dunlop held onto the chains with a comfortable majority, taking 5223 votes while his nearest challenger, Selwyn Metcalfe, could only manage 1723.

In the council's Egmont Plains Ward, Lotto ad man Michael Self got the boot, while Bryan Roach was given a chance. He joins incumbents Ian Armstrong and Bonita Bigham.

In the Hawera Ward Andy Beccard, Kirsty Bourke and Mike Powell have been returned by voters, with Garth Weir the only new comer.

Gordon Lawson and Alex Ballantyne were re-elected unopposed in the Eltham Ward while Te Aroha Hohaia lost her seat on the Patea Ward and is replaced by Robert Northcott. Ian Wards was returned. Phil Nixon was unopposed in the Tangahoe Ward.

In Stratford Neil Volzke has another term as mayor, receiving 2519 votes to challenger Tony Milham's 390.

The Taranaki Regional Council remains exactly the same. Environmental activist Sarah Roberts and former journalist Jim Tucker managed 4898 and 5767 votes respectively but it was not enough to upset the apple cart.  Mr Tucker said his failure to claim a seat on the regional council table did not surprise him.

''It operates pretty well that organisation, it had the lowest rates rise. People obviously think they're doing a pretty good job and there was no mood for change,'' he said.

Voters chose Alex Ballantyne, Pat Leary, Richard Handley, Karen Eagles, Kevin Nielson, Flora Gilkison and Alison Rumball for the Taranaki District Health Board.

Full results are in the PDF links below.

NPCD election results

STDC election results

SCD election results

TDHB election results


Taranaki Daily News