Barrett takes honours for best try of 2013

02:47, Feb 21 2014
Beauden Barrett
TOP SCORE: Beauden Barrett's spectacular score against France in Christchurch has been named IRPA try of the year.

Beauden Barrett has become the first All Black to be awarded the International Rugby Players' Association try of the year.

His five-pointer against France in last year's second test at Christchurch was judged the best international try of 2013 by a panel including former All Black Andrew Mehrtens, England's Tony Diprose, Ireland's Paul Wallace and South Africa's Thinus Delport.

Other finalists included All Blacks team-mate Ben Smith, Scotland's Stuart Hogg and South Africa's Jean de Villiers and Zane Kirchner.

"It was a great feeling to deliver this try for the team," Barrett said after receiving the award.

"Like all tries, the ground work is done on the training field and by your team-mates and the buzz when any of the guys manages to dot down is why we play for each other. I am glad that others enjoyed watching it all unfold."

The try was Barrett's first in test rugby and came just a couple of minutes after he made it on the field as a late substitute.


The movement started 15m from the All Blacks line with a France feed to the scrum before the ball was turned over 5m out from the try line.

Barrett received the ball from the ruck, passed long to Aaron Cruden who in turn put wing Rene Ranger into space. Conrad Smith then received an off-load from Ranger before he kicked the ball upfield.

It was then recovered by Cruden who in turn offloaded a fantastic pass to Barrett who had made a straight run to take the ball and scamper 30m to score under the posts.

The try was eventually awarded after the television match official was asked to rule on Cruden's pass to Ranger.

Mehrtens said the try was considered the best of 2013 because of the high level of skills involved by different players and the teamwork needed to make it happen.

South Africa's Bryan Habana and Jaque Fourie, Australia's Radike Samo, England's Chris Ashton and Ireland's Brian O'Driscoll are previous winners of the award.

Taranaki Daily News