Rugby union posts surplus for 2013

18:41, Mar 26 2014

The Taranaki Rugby Football Union's books have gone from red to black.

After a loss of $88,626 in 2012, the union has turned things around with a $91,215 surplus for the 2013 financial year.

Last night's annual meeting at the Spotswood United clubrooms was told the union made a cash distribution of $32,277 to affiliated clubs - one of the few provinces to do so.

After the payout to clubs, the net surplus for the union was $58,939, with reserves up from $608,224 to $667,162.

TRFU chairman Lindsay Thomson was pleased with the union's financial performance in 2013.

"Finishing in the black reflects the hard work of the organisation delivering successful events like the All Blacks test," he said.


"Although our flagship team TenderLink Taranaki did not perform in line with expectations and gate takings were considerably less as a result, we are pleased our work developing alternative revenue streams assisted us in maintaining a positive financial position."

Mr Thomson said it was ironic that in 2012 the union had a fantastic year with the Ranfurly Shield yet recorded a loss, and in 2013 could produce a profit and not the results on the field.

Looking ahead to the 2014 financial year, he said the TRFU board was anticipating a challenging year requiring prudent fiscal management. "With no All Blacks test match and no guarantee of income from international initiatives in 2014, all expenses are being reviewed to assist in achieving the union's financial objective to break even for this calendar year."

Opunake's Michael "Joe" Carey takes over as president from Ian Eliason, New Plymouth, after being elected unopposed to the position for two years.

New Plymouth's Murray Wills was elected vice-president.

Life member and Taranaki centurion Peter Burke, New Plymouth, stood down from his role as patron, with Mr Eliason taking over the position.

Coastal's Ray Barron and New Plymouth's John Geraghty were awarded life membership of the union.

Mr Barron has been on the TRFU board since 2004. Mr Geraghty has been on the TRFU board since 1996.

Taranaki Daily News