Morresey repels all challenges to win again

23:03, Jun 09 2014

New Plymouth's Mike Morresey walked away with his second national 15km race walking title on his "home" course at Bell Block last Saturday.

A total of 30 race walkers from Taranaki, Wellington, Auckland and Christchurch, were racing for a series of cups and the Race Walking New Zealand (RWNZ) 15km championship title.

In the men's 15km championship, Morresey (Egmont Athletics) for the second year running, scored an end-to-end victory in the RWNZ 15km championship in 1hr 23min 44sec.

Morresey was pleased with his time and showed he is on the way to regaining peak fitness following an injury layoff.

Harry Terwiel, Taranaki Race Walking Club (TRWC), was second in 1hr 30min 2sec.

There was a battle for third between David Sim (Auckland) and Alan Clarke (TRWC). At the halfway mark there was a 200m gap between the pair, but in the second half Clarke gradually closed the gap and they were together with 200m to go. Sim finished the strongest to take third in 1hr 39min 51sec.


The women's RWNZ 15km championship produced a dominating display from Rozie Robinson of Christchurch.

Robinson cruised to victory in 1hr 25min 35sec. She is another on the comeback trail following injury.

The real race was for second between Taranaki's Rachel Gilberd and Vanessa Lowl. The pair were neck and neck for the first 5km. In the next 5km Gilberd took the lead out to nearly a minute however, Lowl toughed it out and started to close. By the bell there was a gap of just 18 seconds and Lowl stormed home to win in 1hr 33min 22sec with Gilberd 40 seconds back.

The Hawera Cup is awarded to the first walker, male or female (on handicap) in the 15km event. Alan Clarke (TRWC) was just 18 seconds ahead of Terri Grimmett (Wellington) on handicap time.

The Campbell Cup is for the best female performance against handicap over 5 or 10km. In a strong field, Sherryn Wilson (TRWC) on debut was first, five seconds ahead of Daphne Jones (Wellington) on handicap.

The Trevor Suthon Cup for the best performance against handicap for the over 60s saw Tony Burrell (TRWC) and Dave Barrett (TRWC) end up joint winners.

Taranaki Daily News