New selector Bennett wants Taranaki culture

17:00, Jun 24 2014

West End's David Bennett has been appointed Taranaki's new men's bowls selector.

Bennett takes over from Dennis Osborne, who did not seek re-election.

The formerlong-serving player is looking forward to the challenge.

"I feel good," Bennett said. "The background experience that I have had as a player has given me an understanding of what is required to perform at that level. It is a challenge but I'm looking forward to it."

Over the next couple of months, Bennett will sound out numerous prospective representative players. Advisory selectors will be added in due course.

"I would like to bring a Naki culture into the side," Bennett said. "Guys who want to play for the province with a common purpose of striving for excellence."


Bennett has had 13 years in the top seven-man Revital Fertilisers Taranaki side over his career and was seen as both a tough competitor who had high expectations of his team-mates..

"We have a group of young guys who can take the next step. But they need encouragement and development and I'm keen to take an active involvement in that."

Following his application to become selector, Bennett resigned from board of Bowls Taranaki. "I valued my time on the board. It was a learning experience for me and, hopefully, that will assist me in my new role."

Hawera's Faye Hopkins was re-appointed unopposed as the women's selector.

In other administrative matters, Hawera Park's Mike Clegg and West End's Brien Bennett are the newcomers to the board. Meanwhile, Inglewood's Eric Foreman and West End's Noel Brookes will be ratified as the new president and vice-president of the centre at the annual meeting this Saturday in Stratford.

Two Taranaki sides compete in the national club championship finals in Dunedin this week.

Today Paritutu's Peter Goodin, Midge Shaw and Darren Goodin are involved in the triples final, having qualified over three months ago.

Only four of the six regional winners have entered the men's triples, with the other sides being Ray Yearbury (Coromandel), Trevor Kennett (Hornby) and the favoured Michael Kernaghan (Kaikorai).

On Friday and Saturday, the West End quartet of Noel Bracken, Alex McKay, Dennis Osborne and Garry Murfitt take part in the fours, with five sides out of a possible six taking up the user-pays invitation of attending the national final.

The competing sides are headed by Neil Fisher (Browns Bay), Pat Horgan (Palmerston North), Tony Fowler (Motueka) and Brendon Hollander (Waihola).

In events so far completed, the mixed pairs went to Auckland's Scott Mouton and Linda Ralph, the singles to Robert Wilson (Clutha Valley) and Tayla Bruce (Burnside), while the victorious pairs combinations were Warrick and Cary Pinker (Wanganui) and Debbie White and Bev Corbett (Hinuera).

Taranaki Daily News