Hobbs makes it back-to-back athletics titles

Last updated 05:00 02/07/2014
Zoe Hobbs
SUPREME WINNER: Zoe Hobbs claimed the top trophy at the Athletics Taranaki awards evening.

Relevant offers

Talented teenage sprinter Zoe Hobbs has won Athletic Taranaki's supreme award, the Stan Lay Trophy, for the second year in a row.

Hobbs was presented with the trophy at the TET Athletics Taranaki awards evening last week after earlier being named the most outstanding junior female.

The most outstanding junior male award went to Angus White.

Grace White and Arnold Fage were rewarded with the the Stan Lay award for the most promising junior female and male. Volunteer of the year went to Judy Barr with Karen Gillum-Green taking out the coach award.

The master women's trophy went to Vicky Adams with Des Phillips winning the master men's trophy. Mike Morresey won the senior male award.

The awards for the most outstanding girls' and boys' 7 to 14 years were won by Hawera athletes Ashleigh Bennett and Jack Elliot.

Guest speaker for the awards evening was 1974 Commonwealth Games gold medallist Dick Tayler. He entertained the gathering with his tales of training regimes, pre-race tactics and the euphoria of winning the Commonwealth 10,000m gold medal in front of a packed stadium.

Tayler encouraged the younger athletes to stay with athletics. He explained that his belief was that even if it didn't take them further in athletics, it would always hold them in good steed for other sporting achievements.

Ad Feedback

- Taranaki Daily News

Special offers
Opinion poll

How many hours of sleep, on average, do you get per day/night?

Almost too many (More than 8)

Well rested at around 8

A solid 6-7

Around 5 is as good as it gets

Struggling at 4 or under

Vote Result

Related story: Sleep-deprived putting their health at risk

Featured Promotions

Sponsored Content

Follow the Taranaki Daily News on Twitter

Get Taranaki's frequent news and sport updates