Inglewood claim Taranaki premier rugby crown

21:59, Jul 19 2014
CHAMPIONS: Inglewood players celebrate winning the the Taranaki premier rugby title at Yarrow Stadium.

Inglewood are the Taranaki premier rugby champions after they thrashed Coastal 35-14 this afternoon.

A superb attacking performance from Inglewood, a side which had struggled to score tries all season, set up the win at Yarrow Stadium.

Led by a brilliant performance from wing Avon Lewis, Inglewood scored four tries to one to outplay their opponents in most facets of the game.

Lewis, who had missed the last month with a broken hand, proved to strong, too fast and too evasive for the Coastal defenders.

Ahead 16-9 at halftime and playing into the wind, Inglewood fed off Coastal's mistakes as they scored two brilliant long range tries.

As good as they were on attack, Inglewood were just as impressive with their defence, especially co-captain Berny Hall, who was outstanding for a second successive week.

Add in some top drawer performances from halfback Chris Bayens, first five-eighth Cody Hall, No 8 Mitch Brown and lock Cam Gall, and it was easy to see why Inglewood won by the margin they did.

Hall was a real standout with his kicking game, while he also scored tries either side of halftime to give his side the lift they needed.

Coastal were disappointing and made too many mistakes at crucial times after they had played reasonably well for a 20 minute period in the first half.

Inglewood's win was their first since 2006.

INGLEWOOD 35 (Cody Hall 2, Mitch Brown, Telly Hemopo tries; Hall 3 pens, con, Ben Leng 2 cons) COASTAL 14 (John Julian try; Rick McKenna 3 pens). HT: 16-9. 



Taranaki Daily News