Dream team of century is named

Last updated 00:22 14/10/2008

Relevant offers

Taranaki Rugby League named its Team of the Century at a centenary dinner in New Plymouth on Saturday night.

The occasion drew 160 people, including some big names in the sport - among them Stephen Kearney, Frank Endacott, Tony Kemp, Nathan Cayless, Howie Tamati and rising star Issac Luke. NZRL chairman Ray Haffenden also attended the celebrations.

Guest speaker on the night was All Golds manager Peter Leitch (the Mad Butcher) and master of ceremonies Gordon Brown.

The Taranaki Team of the Century (including playing era and team position) is: David Watson (1989-1993) fullback; Babe Hooker (1909) winger; Ron McKay (1952-1956) centre; Willie Talau (2003-2005) centre; Ernest Buckland (1909-1911) winger; Tony Kemp (1989-1995) stand off; Issac Luke (2008) halfback; Bruce Gall (1980-1982) prop; Howie Tamati (1979-1985) hooker; Willie Southorn (1966-1967) prop; Graham West (1975-1985) second row; Adam Lile (1907-1909) second row; Barry Harvey (1986-1989) loose forward; reserves, Jack McLeod (1937-1938) second row; Fred White (1963) winger; Lance Moir (1912) centre; James Parker (1914-1919) prop; Charles Hunt (1935) centre.

Referee of the century Graham Church. Coach of the century Alan (Sporty) Marshall. Player of the century Willie Southorn.


Ad Feedback

- Taranaki Daily News

Special offers
Opinion poll

Does more need to be done to protect NZ passports?

Yes, we need stronger application safeguards

Yes, we need a way to cancel them if stolen

A combination of the above

We don't need stronger safeguards, criminals will just find a way around them

Vote Result

Featured Promotions

Sponsored Content

Follow the Taranaki Daily News on Twitter

Get Taranaki's frequent news and sport updates