Modgill selected for camp

17:00, Jun 27 2012

New Plymouth junior Sanjay Modgill has been selected to attend a national junior training camp during the July school holidays.

The 17-year-old year-13 New Plymouth Boys' High School student will be part of eight junior male golfers attending the camp at St Peter's School in Cambridge from July 3 to 5.

Various service providers to the national programme will be in attendance, including two PGA coaches, Jay Carter and Reon Sayer, physiotherapist Bryce Hamer and High Performance Sport New Zealand psychologist David Galbraith.

A field of 41 junior golfers competed in the Taranaki Junior Golf Society's two ball, best ball tournament at Inglewood last Sunday.

The local pairing of Logan Shaw and Cameron Thomson took out the best net score of 54 in the Taranaki Golf Centre-sponsored event with Charlie Boon (Waverley) and Shantelle Bromell (Inglewood) second on 58. The best gross was won by Des Wilcox (Westown) and Daniel White (Hawera) with a one under par round of 67.

The 18-hole event was also the first trial to select the Taranaki Booth Shield interprovincial team.


Leading scores were: Boys: Fletcher Broderick (New Plymouth) 71-7-64, Kyle Joseph (Inglewood) 71-6-65, Matthew O'Sullivan (Inglewood) 80-15-65; girls: Celeste McLean (Manaia) 75-5-70, Shantelle Bromell (Inglewood) 88-16-72, Tineka Kumeroa (Manaia) 93-18-75.

Nine-hole short course results: 1st, Chelsea Kumeroa (Manaia) 60; 2nd, Eli Waite (Westown) 64; 3rd, Sasha Honnor (Westown) 67; nine-hole long course results: 1st, Rico Waite (Westown) 63; 2nd, Max Shearer (New Plymouth) 64; 3rd, George Burwell (Inglewood) 65.

The Kaitake nine-hole women's golf team have successfully retained their Taranaki title. The final round of the Taranaki-wide competition was held at Westown on Monday. The host club finished second in the eight-team competition, with Inglewood third.

Final points were: Kaitake 40, Westown 37, Inglewood 30, Fitzroy 27, New Plymouth 27, Te Ngutu 27, Opunake 22, Urenui 21, Stratford 20.

Inglewood Golf Club's male Top Dogs have been determined for 2012 with the left-handed combination of Merv Drew and Ken Thomson prevailing over the right-handed combination of Brian Jackson and Willy Wilson 3/2 in the 18-hole final last Saturday.

The Taranaki women's pennant competition finals were abandoned for the second successive week due to wet weather at Stratford last Monday. The play-offs for Taranaki's top four clubs – Opunake, Inglewood, Kaitake and Patea – will be played on a date yet to be confirmed.

Taranaki Daily News