Capacity field tee it up for Taranaki Masters

19:22, Aug 29 2012
martin stand
Murray Martin is a favourite for the Taranaki Masters.

A capacity field will compete in the Taranaki Masters Championship this weekend.

Ninety-four players, including 14 women, have entered the Spicers-sponsored 36-hole event, with 18 holes to be played at Fitzroy on Saturday, and the final 18 holes at New Plymouth on Sunday.

The pre-tournament favourites for the men's top over-40 division include defending champion Carey Hobbs (Manukorihi), Aarun Langton (Opunake), Brian Rowland (Fitzroy), Jack Kurta (New Plymouth) and Murray Martin (New Plymouth). Martin also looks a shoe-in for the Taranaki Seniors (over-55) title.

The women's division should be a close tussle, with defending champion Debbie McCallum facing a strong challenge from Svala Garner (Urenui), Chris Wilson (Inglewood) and Eleanor Hodson (New Plymouth).

■ Forty-five players took part in the Versatill Taranaki Top Club qualifying event at Te Ngutu recently.

The four players who qualified for the regional final at New Plymouth on September 16 were: Senior, Ray McCall 38 points; intermediate, Jed Boyce 39; junior, Alistair Abbott 45; women, Gwyneth MacDonald 33.


Neighbouring club Hawera had 22 starters in their club event, with the four winners being: Senior men, Drew Rennie 40; intermediate, Peter Bigham 43; junior, Graham Williams 39; women, Leila Batchelor 34. The New Plymouth Golf Club had 50 participants, with Tim Lynskey winning the senior division with 40 points.

The intermediate division was won by Richard Pepperell with 44, the junior division by Graeme Goldsworthy with 35, and the women's section by Terri Heyes with 40.

■ The Manukorihi Golf Club have completed their 2012 men's strokeplay championships.

The senior division was won by Carey Hobbs ( 72-74-71-74-292) who beat Damien Powell by four shots. The intermediate title went to Kevin Southee (80-86-83-77-326), with Peter Pierce four shots back on 330.

The junior division was won by Ron Davis (88-94-88-86-356) who had a comfortable 10-shot victory over Peter Lopusiewicz on 366. The limit division was won by Ben Chamberlain (96-96-97-102-391), with Mike Burkhart finishing second.

■ A field of 80 players competed in the Kiwi Butcher Open tournament at Manukorihi Golf Club on Sunday.

The best men's gross was recorded by Damien Powell, who shot a two-over par round of 74, while Svala Garner won the women's best gross with a 78.

Other results: Senior men, net, Gary Johnson (77-10-67); intermediate, John Rayner (79-13-66); junior, Gary Crawford (100-35-65); women, Lesley Elliott (92-20-72).

A feature of the event was three twos scored by Gary Johnson.

■ New Plymouth professional Craig Owen (74-77-151) finished 13th equal in the $A25,000 Queensland Seniors PGA championship played at the Redland Bay Golf Club last Thursday and Friday.

The 36-hole event was won Australian professional Ossie Moore (69-71-140) who finished seven shots ahead of Larry Canning (70-77-147), Paul Dalgleish (72-75-147) and Ken Oung (75-72-147).

Wellington professional Martin Webber (74-75-149) was the best Kiwi in sixth-equal position.

Taranaki Daily News