Weir continues on his winning way

16:00, Oct 04 2012

Medals and records continue to fall for Taranaki swimmer Julian Weir at the New Zealand age and open short course championships in Wellington.

The 16-year-old from the Aquabladz club was in fantastic form on day four, winning his age group 100m freestyle final before placing ninth in the men's open final in 50.75sec.

Weir then went on to win another gold in his age group 50m backstroke final in 26.07sec, breaking his own Taranaki record of 26.33sec. He then raced in the men's open final, finishing sixth.

Weir's clubmate Kaitlyn Tippett, 13, continued to produce Taranaki records with a swim time of 1min 07.42sec in the 13 to 15 years 100m butterfly.

This time beat the previous record of 1min 08.20sec held by Brydie Whitehead. Tippett finished 10th in the A final of this event.

The 400m freestyle women's event saw four Taranaki swimmers performing at their best.


Ann-Marie O'Donnell (New Plymouth Aquatics) finished sixth in the 16 and over A final, while clubmate Caitlan Ogier, 15, was fourth in her age group and then eighth in the 13 to 15 years A final.

Another clubmate Jenna Barrett, 14, finished seventh in her age group and then third in the 13 to 15 years B final, while Stratford's Brittany Taylor, 13, was seventh in her age group and then seventh in the B final.

D'Ani Allen, 17, (Aquabladz) was seventh in the 17 to 18 years age group 50m backstroke final and then finished ninth in the 16 and over A final. Dylan Dunlop-Barrett, 21, (New Plymouth Aquatics) was first in the B final of the men's 100m freestyle in 50.82sec.

Taranaki had three teams in the 4x50m medley relay events on day four. The women's 13 to 15 years team of Sophie Scott, Barrett, Tippett and Ogier swam 2min 07.56sec in qualifying, breaking the Taranaki record of 2min 07.83sec. They finished 10th in the final.

The men's team of Weir, Talor Owen, Ryan Cooper and Dunlop-Barrett swam 1min 51.51sec to break a Taranaki record, while qualifying in the morning session and then broke it again in the evening final with a time of 1min 51.44sec (previously 1min 52.05sec), finishing ninth.

The women's team of Allen, Arwen Vernon, O'Donnell and Brooke Wells finished ninth in the final of their relay in a time of 2min 08.26sec.

Taranaki Daily News