Maister to speak at Daily News Sportsperson of the Year awards

Barry Maister
Barry Maister

Former New Zealand hockey player Barry Maister is the guest speaker at this year's Taranaki Daily News Sportsperson of the Year awards to be held on Friday, November 23, at the Plymouth International Hotel.

Maister was a member of the New Zealand men's team which won gold at the 1976 Olympic Games in Montreal. He played 85 games for New Zealand and competed at four Olympic Games.

Earlier this year, Maister was made an Officer of the New Zealand Order of Merit for services to sport. He has been an International Olympic Committee member since 2010.

There is a talented lineup for the awards, especially in the junior sportsman categories where 17 have been nominated. They include triathlon (Ryan Dingle), skiing (Tai Juneau), rugby league (Haimona Hiroti), surfing (Sean Kettle), karting (Matthew Podjursky) and tennis (Ajeet Rai).

The junior sportswoman of the year award includes Rebecca Cole (canoe racing), Morgan Haakma (wakeboarding), Zoe Hobbs (athletics), Celeste McLean (golf) and Catherine West (dressage).

All Blacks Beauden Barrett and Andrew Hore have both been nominated for the senior sportsman of the year award. Others include BMX rider Matt Cameron, Olympic swimmer Dylan Dunlop-Barrett and woodchopping's Shane Jordan.

Surfing's Paige Hareb, BMX's Victoria Hill and basketball's Terai Sadler are among those up for honours in the senior sportswoman division.

Four teams have been nominated for the senior team of the year. They include the North Taranaki indoor bowls team which won the prestigious Welch Trophy and the Taranaki rugby team, while in the junior category those in the running include the Ravens under-16 inline hockey team, the Highlands Intermediate junior girls' running team and the Devon Intermediate sevens rugby team.

Six people have been nominated for the coach of the year award. Surf lifesaving's Glenn Anderson, who won the award last year, has again been nominated as has Taranaki rugby coach Colin Cooper and Matt Lash, who coached the champion Opunake High School team which won the Hillary Challenge adventure racing title.

The award for game official of the year is a two-man race between inline hockey's Alan Henderson and rugby's Richard Kelly, while marathon kayaker Andrea Bunn and Des Phillips, from athletics, are among those in the running for the masters award.

Among those nominated for the volunteer-administrator award are inline hockey's Krystyna Beardman, orienteering's Annie Sanderson and badminton's Pam Frederickson.

The nominees will be featured in the sports section of the Taranaki Daily News on Tuesday.

Taranaki Daily News