Waitara trio enjoy spike in form

They were cheekily calling for a drug test at the annual two-day Clubs NZ North Island tournament held at the Onewhero course near Pukekawa last week.

Three Waitara lads representing their Town and Country club, Goose Jenkins, Ian Franklin and Brian Mullin, played miserably on the first day and each returned gross scores of 99 to put them 31st out of the 55 teams competing.

But something happened overnight and the trio rocketed up the leaderboard after scores of 88 (Jenkins), 92 (Mullin) and 94 (Franklin).

Once their handicaps were deducted they had leapfrogged to third and each received a $350 Mitre 10 voucher for their efforts.

After a promising start, the Taranaki men's masters team faded to finish 12th at the masters interprovincial tournament at the Maraenui Golf Club in Napier last week.

Aarun Langton recorded 5 wins from eight games, Murray Martin had 3 wins from seven, Tony Hardy had 3 wins from seven, Brian Martelletti had four wins from eight, Robbie Sims had 1 wins from four and Brian Rowland had two wins from six games.

The Taranaki women's masters team finished sixth at the interprovincial tournament at the Otatara Golf Club in Invercargill.

Taranaki recorded a total of 318 gross stableford points for the 54-hole event. Individual scores: Debbie McCallum (23-29-25-77), Svala Garner (26-29-25-80), Eleanor Hodson (22-31-25-78) and Kim Lucas (27-26-22-75).

The Urenui Golf Club matchplay champions have been determined for 2012.

In the senior men's final, Tony Martin beat Peter Armstrong 1-up, while Ian Riley beat Dave McCrea 4 and 3 to claim the intermediate title. In the junior final, Dave Cambie beat Neale McEwen 7 and 6 and the limit division was won by Phil Schroder who beat Robert Blyde 1-up.

Taranaki Masters representative Svala Garner beat Marisa Newton to win the senior women's final and Barbara Rawlinson beat Jo Black 4 and 3 to win the intermediate division.

In the junior women's final, Colleen Hobbs beat Clazino Hagenson on the 19th and Val Holland won the limit title with a 2 and 1 win over Judith Hymers.

The nine-hole title was won by Elaine Selby who beat Anthea Davidson 2 and 1.

A field of 126 golfers participated in the Opunake Open Christmas Hamper.

In the senior men's division, Troy Forsyth (74-8-66) recorded the best net while Joseph Doyle shot a three-under par round of 68 to head off Tumahu clubmate Brook Gray for the best gross score of the day.

In the intermediate division, John Julian (78-14-64) won the best net and Raymond Lewis won the best stableford with 44 points.

The junior men's best net went to Noel Baldwin (80-19-61) and the best stableford to Liam Collins with 41 points. The women's net went to Wendy Vickers (101-34-67).

Ann Braithwaite had the best gross score of 82 and Patti Smith the best stableford with 41 points.