Rountree gears up to win

Limit rider John Rountree led all the way to win the second race of the Taranaki Recreational Cycling Club's George Wharehoka Memorial points series on Sunday.

Racing over two laps of the Alfred and Egmont roads circuit in Egmont Village, Rountree won in one hour nine minutes 12 seconds from Stuart Thomason, who rode from the 13min mark and finished in 59min 41sec.

Third place and fastest time went to scratch rider Blake Fergus in 52min 42sec.

Taranaki Daily News