Young team vies for top title

Taranaki will field their youngest team ever at the men's national interprovincial tournament at the Otago Golf Club in Dunedin.

With the unavailability of Aarun Langton and Murray Martin and the late withdrawal of Thomas Hill, Tim White and Tyla Otene, three of the five-man team will make their debut appearance at the national teams matchplay tournament from December 4 to 8.

In-form New Plymouth golfer Brad Hayward will lead the team at the tournament to be played on the testing Balmacewen course.

Fellow 21-year old Jamie Reid (Fitzroy) will debut at No 2.

New Plymouth's Zach Lewis, 23, the oldest member of the team, comes in at No 3, one position higher than last year.

The Tumahu duo of Joseph Doyle and Brook Gray, both 19, will make their debuts at four and five, respectively.

Taranaki's top amateur golfer, Brad Hayward, (73-70-71-79-291) finished third at the Omanu Classic at the Omanu Golf Club in Mt Maunganui last weekend.

Hayward led the event heading into the final round.

However, the demanding weather conditions saw him drop seven shots over the last eight holes to allow Te Awamutu's Compton Pikari (75-68-73-72-288) to claim the title.

Fellow New Plymouth golfer Zach Lewis shot rounds of 74, 78, 83 and 79 to finish well down the order.

Fifteen-year-old Jordie Barrett is the 2012 Pungarehu senior men's matchplay champion.

The younger brother of All Black Beauden Barrett beat Dean Simpson 3/2 in the 36-hole final.

The intermediate final went to the 37th hole, with John Gilligan edging out Mark Van der Poel, while Robert Billing beat Jamie Rothwell 3/2 to claim the junior title.

The limit division was won by Ross Martin, who beat Codie Rothwell 3/2.

In the women's silver division, Sharon Adamson had a comfortable win over Beverley Robinson and the bronze one division was won byBarrett's mother, Robyn, who beat Susan Crowley 2/1.

Taranaki golfers will have a local interest when the New Zealand Open tees off at the Clearwater Golf Resort in Christchurch today.

New Plymouth professional Grant Moorhead will tee off at 1.10pm with Sven Puymbroeck and Edward Stedman.

Former Taranaki Open champion Troy Ropiha also made the NZ Open field after pre-qualifying on Monday.

Ropiha will tee off at 11.50am today with Kieran Muir and Jeremy Hall.