Another trio of legends inducted Jordan, Tamati, and Baldwin recognised

Former New Zealand fast bowler Alistar Jordan, former Kiwi rugby league hooker Howie Tamati and the late Dave Baldwin are the latest inductees into the Taranaki Sports Hall of Fame.

They join former All Black Peter Burke and the late Stan Lay and Norm Read.

The Sports Hall of Fame was the brainchild of Sport Taranaki trustee Mike Brooke and Phil Quinney.

"All three inductees were selected because of their contribution to sport in Taranaki and in New Zealand. It's time we recognised these people," Brooke said.

Baldwin, who died earlier this year aged 90, needs no introduction.

The Paritutu bowler was a member of the champion New Zealand men's fours team which won gold at the 1974 Commonwealth Games in Christchurch and four years later won silver in the four at the 1978 Games in Edmonton, Canada.

He represented New Zealand at the 1976 World Championships.

At national level, Baldwin won New Zealand titles in 1971 (pairs), 1972 (fours) and 1974 (fours) and was a member of the Paritutu team which won the New Zealand interclub title in 1991. On five occasions, he represented the North Island.

Baldwin represented Taranaki for 25 years at senior level and won five intercentre (provincial) titles with Taranaki. He won 16 Taranaki centre titles.

A life member of both the Paritutu club and Bowls Taranaki, Baldwin over the years held most positions at the Paritutu club from secretary, president and greens warden to umpire and coach.

He was an honorary ambassador for the New Plymouth District Council and was named Taranaki Sportsperson of the Year on two occasions - in 1974 and 1990.

Jordan made his debut for Taranaki at the age of 16 while still at New Plymouth Boys' High School. He played 104 games for Taranaki - one of only four players to do so - taking 375 wickets at an average of 17.18. He took 27 five-wicket bags and on six occasions took 10 or more wickets in a match. His best figures for an innings were 9-103 against Hutt Valley in 1972 and his best match figures were 14-89 against Franklin. Both games were Hawke Cup defences.

Jordan played 55 games for Central Districts from 1968 to 1980, taking 157 wickets with best figures of 7-82. He took six wickets in an innings three times and in 2010 was named in the Hawke Cup "Team of the Century" to celebrate 100 years of Hawke Cup cricket. Jordan represented New Zealand at under-23 level in 1968-69 and played for New Zealand in 1973.

He retired from cricket in 1992 and was selector-coach for the Taranaki senior A team from 2001 to 2010 - the highlight of this period being when Taranaki won the Hawke Cup for the sixth time.

Jordan is a life member of the Taranaki Cricket Association and the New Plymouth Old Boys club.

Tamati played 50 games including 24 tests for the Kiwis from 1978 to 1985.

In 1988, he played for the New Zealand men's masters touch team before returning to rugby league. He was assistant coach, national coaching scheme from 1985 to 1993, and coached the Junior Kiwis in 1991. He took over the top job, coaching the Kiwis in 1992 and 1993 and was awarded an MBE for services to rugby league in 1994.

He is the current convener of selectors for the Kiwis and he is chairman of the New Zealand Maori Rugby League.

Tamati played rep league for Wellington from 1986 to 1991, before returning to Taranaki to coach the Taranaki Rockets from 1995 to 1997.

In 1998, he coached Fiji in the Oceania 9s event.

He is the chairman of the Taranaki Elite Athletes Foundation and a member of the Halberg Awards judging panel.

Rugby great, golden Olympians get company

New Plymouth's Peter Burke, along with the late Stan Lay and Norm Read, were the inaugural inductees to the Taranaki Sports Hall of Fame.

Burke captained Taranaki during the province's Ranfurly Shield era from 1957 to 1959 and for Taranaki's 3-all draw against the Springboks in 1956. He played 12 games, including three tests, for the All Blacks.

He was a Taranaki selector from 1960 to 1968, an All Blacks selector in 1978 and then coached the All Blacks in 1981 and 1982. He is a life member of the Taranaki Rugby Football Union and the New Zealand Rugby Union.

Lay, a recipient of the MBE, won gold in the javelin at the 1930 British Empire Games in Hamilton, Canada. His record throw stood for 24 years. In 1938, he claimed silver at the British Empire Games in Sydney. He won 12 NZ javelin titles.

Read won gold in the 50km walk at the Olympics in Melbourne in 1956. Ten years later, at the 1966 Commonwealth Games in Kingston, Jamaica, he claimed bronze in the same event.

In 1992, he was an international judge at the Olympic Games in Barcelona, Spain, and in 1994 he became national president of Athletics NZ.

Taranaki Daily News Sports Personality of the Year

Your votes have been counted and the winner is Steve "Coach" McKean.

McKean, the face of secondary schools sport in Taranaki, picked up most votes from the public, heading off Chiefs and Taranaki rugby captain Craig Clarke and Amber Army "General" Andy Jackson for the top award.

The winner was announced at last night's Taranaki Daily News Sportsperson of the Year Awards function in New Plymouth.

Taranaki Daily News