Opunake golfer prevails in tense playoff

18:28, Dec 19 2012

A sudden-death playoff was required to determine the Taranaki senior men's champion-of-champions title at the Manaia Golf Club on Saturday.

After the regulation 36 holes, Opunake's Aarun Langton (69-72-141) and Daryl Baird (71-70-141) were tied at one-under par. The title went to Langton who won on the first playoff hole.

The intermediate title was won by Aaron Burgess (76-81-157), who edged out Richard Barlow (78-80-158) from Westown by a single shot.

The junior title went to Ian Titter (88-80-168), who stormed home to head off Keith Rowlands (89-83-172) from New Plymouth by four shots.

The teams prize for the best aggregate net score for the three champions went to the Te Ngutu team of Clive Porter, George Stannard and Steve Kara with a score of 415. The Crowded House Bar & Cafe Taranaki Tour men's champions for 2012 are Inglewood's Kerry Otene, who won the Gross Order of Merit, and Westown's Dean Baldock, who won the Net Order of Merit.

The Taranaki women's golf team turned a few heads at the national interprovincial tournament in Dunedin last week.


The five-strong Taranaki side were competitive in all seven matches played, notching four team wins against Aorangi, Otago, Hawke's Bay and North Harbour to finish in a very creditable seventh.

The star performers for the Taranaki team were Rochelle Keegan, who recorded six wins at No 4, and 13-year-old Vanessa Bouvet, who made her debut in the No 5 position with five wins and a half.

Manaia clubmates Holly Winter (14) and Celeste McLean (16) both made solid debuts with two wins and a half and four wins at No 2 and No 3 respectively.

A field of 66 players, including nine women, participated in the Taranaki District seniors' monthly event held at the Urenui Golf Club last week.

The men's monthly button was won by Inglewood's Kevin Miles with 45 stableford points, while the women's button went to Urenui's Maureen Sutton with 43 points.

Other leading scores were: Senior men, Bernie Lile 41, Grant Lester 38, Duncan Elliott 38; intermediate, Ken Green 43, John Hymers 42, Colin Wheeler 41; junior, Ian Besley 43, Les Chainey 41, Ron Scott 38, Peter Spurway 38; women, Barbara Hunt 40, Ann Braithwaite 39, Helen Beaurepaire 39.

Waitara golfer Paul Foreman was the ace performer at the New Plymouth Golf Club's Open Christmas hamper tournament on Sunday.

The Nu-Look Windows & Doors franchise owner and Taranaki Golf Sponsor used a pitching wedge to score a hole-in-one on the 116-metre par-three 14th hole.

A total of 90 golfers competed in The Glassman Tumahu Open hamper on Sunday.

The best net in the senior men's division was won by Roly Harvey (70-9-61), while Ray Hayward and Bruce Sim both recorded 45 stableford points. In the intermediate division, Callum Roach (74-13-61) won the net and Len Adamson and Alex Kalin both had 44 points.

In the junior division, Jim Duff (82-24-58) took out the best net and the stableford went to Paul Downes with 46 points, one ahead of Rex Bridgeman on 45 points.

The best women's net went to Sharon Adamson (79-15-64), while Jo Kennedy and Cath Corbett both had 37 points.

Three-day tournament draw: Page 24

Taranaki Daily News