Champs move on but runners-up run out of luck

ALL OVER: Cindy Nicoll missed out on a place in post section play.
ALL OVER: Cindy Nicoll missed out on a place in post section play.

Defending champion Heather Johns and two-time winners Ellie Goble, from Lepperton, and Shona Chambers, from Browns Bay, are among the 24 qualifiers for post-section play in the Taranaki Open fours women's bowls tournament.

Not so lucky was last year's runner-up Cindy Nicoll and her team from Inglewood.

After three straight wins, the Inglewood four lost their next three in the TSB Bank-sponsored event. They needed one win yesterday, but lost their morning round 24-10 to New Plymouth's Val McEldowney and then went down 26-20 to Sue Edwards and her team from Helensville.

It was Edwards' sixth straight win, while the morning round win clinched a spot in the knockout play for McEldowney.

Paritutu's Valda Rowan, who won the title in 2010, won her first five games but then stumbled in the sixth round when tripped up by Vogeltown's Shirley Marsters. The win secured a spot in post-section play for the Vogeltown side.

Johns had to play all six games and progressed without a loss, finishing with a 25-12 win to deny Mt Maunganui's Margaret Hickey from advancing.

Chambers had to wait until the last round to score the all-important fourth win with a 27-15 victory over one-winner Janette Brocklehurst, from Inglewood.

Anne Newland, from New Plymouth, and Joy Orr, from Inglewood, both needed their sixth-round match, with Newland taking the game 21-19. Likewise Joan Barrett, from Opunake, and Lepperton's Denise Cooper were in a scrap for their fourth win, with Barrett winning 26-23.

Lepperton's Pauline Davy won her first three games, then dropped her next two to head into the final round needing the win. Her team delivered with a 26-14 win over Opunake's Bev Robinson.

Hawera's Frances Parkes qualified the hard way, winning her last three games. In the sixth round, she beat Judy Cato, from Ohaupo, 22-17.

Key matches this morning are Johns against Davy, Edwards against Hawera Park's Kristin Stampa, Rowan against Miriam Koot, from Fitzroy, and Joan Gaines, of Paritutu, against from Louise Bateman, from Bay View.

Post-section play begins this morning at the Paritutu greens in New Plymouth.

Section one at Inglewood Round five J Brocklehurst (Inglewood) 17 M Farmer (Paritutu) 16, D Turner (Hawera) 24 M Mawson (New Plymouth) 14, H Johns (Paritutu) 39 M Moratti (Lepperton) 13, J Hedley (New Plymouth) 27 J Clouston (Waitara) 18, M Hickey (Mt Maunganui) 25 S Chambers (Browns Bay) 21, J Ropitini (Fitzroy) 26 P Gopperth (Pihama) 20.

Round six Ropitini 24 Clouston 15, Chambers 27 Brocklehurst 15, Johns 25 Hickey 12.

Qualifiers: Turner, Johns, Chambers.

Section two at Fitzroy Round five J Johnson (West End) 29 K Stampa (Hawera Park) 25, B Robinson (Opunake) 26 A Blucher (Te Atatu Peninsular) 16, M Koot (Fitzroy) 23 J Gaines (Paritutu) 20, N Cowen (Palmerston North) 27 P Davy (Lepperton) 26, F Moulder (Paritutu) 29 J Kalin (Hawera) 26, H Thomas (New Plymouth) 31 J Clarke (Smart Road) 28.

Round six Thomas 28 Cowen 15, Davy 26 Robinson 14.

Qualifiers: Johnson, Koot, Thomas, Stampa, Gaines, Davy.

Section three at Lepperton Round five N Fairhurst (Waitara) 32 E Ryan (Te Atatu Peninsular) 23, A Newland (New Plymouth) 28 R Walsh (Paritutu) 14, D Cooper (Lepperton) 25 V Colson (Paritutu) 18, J Richards (Fitzroy) 28 J Orr (Inglewood) 17, J Barrett (Opunake) 27 G Fache (Vogeltown) 23, M McCallum (Hawera) 25 E Hunter (Waipawa) 23.

Round six Barrett 26 Cooper 23, Fache 29 Ryan 11, Newland 21 Orr 21.

Qualifiers: Fairhurst, Newland, Richards, Fache, Barrett.

Section four at New Plymouth Round five S Marsters (Vogeltown) 25 Y Standing (Paritutu) 18, S Edwards (Helensville) 35 M Sisson (Opotiki) 10, V Rowan (Paritutu) 28 B Quinn (Hawera) 24, V McEldowney (New Plymouth) 24 C Nicoll (Inglewood) 10, B Gopperth (West End) 26 A Searancke (Tawa) 19, E Goble (Lepperton) 25 M Gadsby (New Plymouth) 9.

Round six Marsters 24 Rowan 18, Edwards 26 Nicoll 20.

Qualifiers: Marsters, Edwards, McEldowney, Goble, Rowan.

Section five at Paritutu C Round five F Parkes (Hawera) 24 B Bishop (Paritutu) 20, U Maha (New Plymouth) 26 J Collins (Opunake) 18, C Andrews (Paritutu) 34 L Bright (Port View) 20, N Hewson (Lepperton) 27 I Poletti (Stratford-Avon) 20, I Bateman (Bay View) 27 J Cato (Ohaupo) 13, M McCallum (Inglewood) 28 G Palmer (Fitzroy) 15.

Round six Parkes 22 Cato 17, McCallum 22 Collins 13.

Qualifiers: Andrews, Hewson, McCallum, Parkes, Bateman.

Taranaki Daily News