Davy puts an end to Johns' hopes of defending fours title

20:14, Feb 01 2013
Pauline Davy
ROBOT MOVES: Lepperton’s Pauline Davy tries some robot moves to edge a bowl closer during post-section of the Taranaki Open fours women’s bowls tournament at Paritutu yesterday.

Defending champion Heather Johns and her Paritutu team were unceremoniously dumped out of the Taranaki Open fours women's bowls tournament yesterday.

In a stunning exit, the Paritutu side were beaten 23-14 by Pauline Davy's Lepperton four after failing to score on the final eight ends of their match.

Hours later, the Lepperton quartet were also on the receiving end when outgunned 29-19 by Kristin Stampa and her lineup from Hawera Park.

Johns and her team, who last month won the New Zealand women's fours title at Paritutu, were odds-on favourites to take out the TSB Bank-sponsored event for a second year running.

They were in control against Davy leading 14-10 after 17 ends. But then things came unstuck.

The Lepperton combination picked up three singles to close to 14-13 and then grabbed the lead with a three on the 21st end. The roll continued for Davy with two twos to lead 20-14 with two ends to play.


The Lepperton four scored a single on the 24th, leaving Paritutu the near impossible task of picking up seven on the final end to tie the match and an eight to win it. Neither was likely.

In the final washup, Lepperton added two to win 23-14 and claim a prized scalp.

Stampa controlled the final five ends of her match against Davy. After the scores had been locked at 19-19, the Lepperton side conceded four twos in a row to trail 27-19 and needed a maximum eight on the final end to stay alive.

It didn't happen with another two giving Stampa a 10-point win - 29-19.

On the adjacent rink, Fitzroy's Joan Richards ended the hopes of the last visiting side, winning 21-18 over two-time champion Shona Chambers, from Browns Bay.

Morning round action included the exit of Sue Edwards and her team from Helensville. After six straight wins in section play, the side lost 27-19 to Stampa.

Two-time winner Ellie Goble was another casualty, losing 25-16 to New Plymouth's Val McEldowney, with Paritutu's Cathy Fleming upset 23-20 by Lepperton's Nellie Hewson.

Paritutu's Valda Rowan, who won the title in 2010, made it safely through with a convincing 27-9 win over Fitzroy's Miriam Koot, with Gale Fache just as impressive winning 21-10 against New Plymouth's Anne Newland.

Fache's match against Rowan looks the most intriguing of all the quarterfinal clashes.

The final will be played tomorrow morning at Paritutu.


WHO PLAYS WHO Final 8 K Stampa (Hawera Park) v J Richards (Fitzroy) V Rowan (Paritutu) v G Fache (Vogeltown) M McCallum (Inglewood) v S Marsters (Vogeltown) T Howard (West End) v N Hewson (Lepperton)

Taranaki Daily News