Westown club wins Foreman Trophy

18:14, Feb 06 2013

The Westown Golf Club won the Cash Converters Foreman Trophy last Sunday.

The six-man team of Max Maaka, Dean Hikaka, Glynn Hawkins, Kevin Couper, Doug Aiello and Grant Lester shot an aggregate net score of 851 for the 36-hole event to head off last year's winners, Manukorihi, by four shots.

A total of 11 club teams competed, with New Plymouth taking out the best gross score of 913, three shots clear of Inglewood.

The best overall gross score went to Mark Kennard (New Plymouth) on a countback over Shane Grylls (Waitara) and Darryl Baird (Kaitake), with all three players shooting an even-par total of 144 for the two rounds.

New Plymouth professional Grant Moorhead has a new favourite number - 69. That follows the NZPGA veteran shooting four consecutive rounds of 69 to win the $40,000 Lawnmaster Classic at the Hokiwhitu golf course in Palmerston North last weekend.

After an early blemish with a double bogey on his sixth hole, Moorhead only had one further bogey in the next 66 holes to secure his first Charles Tour victory.


The 42-year-old will tee up in the $22,500 Omaha Beach Pro-am on February 23-24 and then gets a start in the US$550,000 NZPGA Championship to be played at The Hills Golf Resort, in Queenstown, starting on February 28.

New Plymouth amateur Murray Martin will tee up in the New Zealand Men's Seniors Championship at Taupo's Centennial golf course starting tomorrow.

Martin, 59, who won the championship at New Plymouth in 2011, will start as one of the pre- tournament favourites for the 54-hole event, which has attracted 186 entries.

Other favourites include the Baltrop brothers, Rodney (Wellington) and Michael (Auckland), Andrew McKechnie (Waikato) and Stuart Duff (Hawke's Bay). Kaitake's Robbie Sim is also competing.

The first round of the 2013 Dow AgroSciences men's handicap pennant competition will be played on Sunday.

The competition has attracted 23 club teams with the notable omissions being Hawera and Urenui. The competition consists of two North Taranaki divisions and two Taranaki wide divisions, with the top two teams from each division progressing through to the quarterfinals. The North divisions will be in action at Waitara on Sunday while the Taranaki wide divisions play at Fitzroy.

The Taranaki Seniors were the winners of the Challenge Shield when they played their annual match against Wanganui recently.

The match was played at the Stratford Golf Club with the Taranaki side averaging 33.07 stableford points to Wanganui's 31.82 points.

Leading scores: Senior - Paul Walden 39, Marty Reeves 38, Boyd Pene 37, Don Weston 36; Intermediate - Paddy Keegan 38, Kevin Edmonds 36, Gordon Edwards 36, Pat Carr 36, Kevin Spier 36, Kevin Miles 36, Brian Arthur 36, Warren Hooper 36; Junior - Ray Reitzema 38, David Bates 38, Stafford King 37, Jack Bishop 37; Ladies - Janice Walton 39, Margaret Wheeler 38, Margaret Bishop 37.


The Good Home Restaurant & Bar Westown Classic will be played at Westown Golf Club on February 16-17. It is the first event on the Taranaki Order of Merit.

Taranaki Daily News