Mixed pairs down to post-section play

Last updated 07:42 08/02/2013

Relevant offers

Six teams remain in contention in the Taranaki mixed pairs event after post section in Opunake yesterday.

Following the completion of three rounds of the TSB Bank- sponsored event, two pairs have already made the semifinals and therefore will have a later start today at Opunake.

Those pairs are Paul Digby and Bari Oliver (Stratford- Avon) and Graham Baxter (Nolantown), who is teamed with Margaret Farmer (Paritutu).

Digby advanced to the last four with a surprisingly easy 20-8 win over Shirley Marsters (Vogeltown), while Baxter eventually edged out Mike Hamlin (Stratford-Avon) 18-14.

In the semifinals, Digby will meet the winner of the match between Kevin Crawford (Opunake) and Warren Bellringer (New Plymouth).

Crawford is playing with his wife, Wilma, while Bellringer has Val McEldowney with him.

On the other side of the draw, Baxter will meet the winner of the game between Kristin Stampa (Hawera Park) and Roger Gregory (New Plymouth). Stampa is with Dick Wadsworth and Gregory with Ann Brophy. The two quarterfinal matches start at 9am.

Results of post section play in the TSB Bank-sponsored Taranaki mixed pairs at Opunake yesterday:

Section 1, round 1: G Palmer (Fitzroy) 15 I Fraser (Hawera) 14. Round 2: K Crawford (Opunake) 24 Palmer 6, S Gosling (Fitzroy) 18 M Carey (New Plymouth) 14, G Fache (Vogeltown) 19 B Robinson (Opunake) 16, W Bellringer (New Plymouth) 20 B Parkes (Hawera) 5, A Cargo (New Plymouth) 16 C Edwards (Hawera Park) 9, P Digby (Stratford-Avon) 21 N Jury (Rahotu) 7, I Poletti (Stratford-Avon) 17 N Walker (New Plymouth) 12, S Marsters (Vogeltown) 15 M Davis (Paritutu)14. Round 3: Crawford 16 Gosling 14, Bellringer 14 Fache 13, Digby 20 Cargo 19, Marsters 18 Poletti 10. Round 4: Digby 20 Marsters 8.

Section 2, round 1: N L'Ami (Opunake) beat T Keightley (Paritutu) by default. Round 2: K Stampa (Hawera Park) 16 L'Ami 7, M Dudley (Hawera Park) 18 K Brown (New Plymouth) 10, R Gregory (New Plymouth) 18 B Carnachan (West End) 12, C Hemsley (Fitzroy)17 I Peebles (Hawera Park) 16, P Davy (Lepperton) 24 W Collins (Hawera) 10, M Hamlin (Stratford-Avon) 22 D Brunton (Stratford-Avon) 15, T Symes (Hawera Park) 20 K Day (Fitzroy) 11, G Baxter (Nolantown) 19 J Richards (Fitzroy) 17. Round 3: Stampa 23 Dudley 10, Gregory 19 Hemsley 14, Hamlin 20 Davy 8, Baxter 15 Symes 5. Round 4: Baxter 18 Hamlin 14.

Mixed pairs draw Draw for today at Opunake, round 4 at 9am:

K Crawford, W Crawford (Opunake) v W Bellringer, V McEldowney (New Plymouth), K Stampa, D Wadsworth (Hawera Park) v R Gregory, A Brophy (New Plymouth).

Ad Feedback

Semifinals at 11am: winner Crawford/Bellringer v P Digby, B Oliver (Stratford-Avon), winner Stampa/Gregory v G Baxter (Nolantown), M Farmer (Paritutu).

- Taranaki Daily News

Special offers
Opinion poll

How will the Hurricanes do in 2015?

Win the title - finally


Stumble in semi-finals

End mid-table

Prop up the majority

Bottom of the class

Vote Result

Related story: Supporting players light up Hurricanes bright start to Super Rugby season

Featured Promotions

Sponsored Content

Follow the Taranaki Daily News on Twitter

Get Taranaki's frequent news and sport updates