Swimmers off to champs

Last updated 07:52 25/02/2013

Relevant offers

Taranaki's top young swimmers head to Wellington today for the New Zealand age-group championships, which start tomorrow.

The swimmers will compete in 48 events over five days with Julian Weir being one of the top contenders to bring home several national honours.

Other swimmers with outside chances in some of their main events are Ruby Scott, Kaitlyn Tippett, Eliot Lundon-Moore, Ann-Marie O'Donnell and Ryan Cooper.

The girls' 200 metre freestyle relay teams could also be an outside chance for a medal.

The team will be coached by Sue Southgate, Glenn Anderson and Clive Wheeler.

TARANAKI: D'Ani Allen, Katja Ehler, Isaac Hardie Boys, Oisin Quinn, Ruby Scott, Sophie Scott, Kaitlyn Tippett and Julian Weir (Aquabladz Taranaki), Jenna Barrett, Daniel Barron, Jay Cadman-Kennedy, Eliot Lundon-Moore, Michael McKillop, Rachael McKillop, Ann-Marie O'Donnell, Caitlan Ogier and Talor Owen (New Plymouth Aquatics), Matthew Anderson, Ryan Cooper, Christopher Johnson, Brittany Taylor, Brooke Wells (Stratford).

Ad Feedback

- Taranaki Daily News

Special offers
Opinion poll

How will the Hurricanes do in 2015?

Win the title - finally


Stumble in semi-finals

End mid-table

Prop up the majority

Bottom of the class

Vote Result

Related story: Supporting players light up Hurricanes bright start to Super Rugby season

Featured Promotions

Sponsored Content

Follow the Taranaki Daily News on Twitter

Get Taranaki's frequent news and sport updates