Veteran rules rivals

Last updated 08:19 26/02/2013

Relevant offers

New Plymouth veteran Chris Peters outsprinted the bunch to take the honours in the Alex Gable Memorial Trophy race over the Huirangi circuit on Saturday afternoon.

Peters' previous event win was in 1979. Tight handicapping ensured a close race between bunches in the 40km race.

Peters' bunch worked well to hold off a hard-chasing B grade bunch, winning by 15 seconds.

Second across the line was promising teenager Josh Turner, with Tom Crehan third.

The fastest time went to B graders Barry Marnoch and Grant Peters.

Ad Feedback

- Taranaki Daily News

Special offers
Opinion poll

How will the Hurricanes do in 2015?

Win the title - finally


Stumble in semi-finals

End mid-table

Prop up the majority

Bottom of the class

Vote Result

Related story: Supporting players light up Hurricanes bright start to Super Rugby season

Featured Promotions

Sponsored Content

Follow the Taranaki Daily News on Twitter

Get Taranaki's frequent news and sport updates