Five newcomers for Taranaki, rookies get chance

New Plymouth Boys' High School first XI captain Rupert Young is one of five newcomers in the Taranaki team to play Waikato Valley in a warmup game at Otorohanga on Sunday.

The talented all-rounder is joined by Hawera United batsman Trent McGrath, John Dickson from New Plymouth Old Boys and Woodleigh's Shaun Sullivan.

Dickson and Sullivan are both all-rounders, with McGrath also a bowling option with his left-arm spin.

McGrath and Dickson were both in good form in the opening round of club play, with McGrath scoring 77 and Dickson 75.

The other new face named by Taranaki coach Debu Banik is Matt Thomas.

Originally from Taranaki, the former New Zealand under-20 rep has been living and playing cricket in Hamilton for seven years. The left-arm orthodox spinner and right-hand batsman is playing for Old Boys this season.

"We need the game before the Chapple Cup tournament in Napier [October 18-20]," Banik said.

"The guys have been practising hard at the indoor centre, but they need game time.

"I was happy with what I saw last weekend in the opening round of club play. The boys have worked hard over the winter and the results are coming."

While Banik said he knew little about the opposition, one player in the side was former New Plymouth Marist United all-rounder Leighton Parsons.

Two other players to post scores in the 70s in the opening round of the club competition for Woodleigh were captain Peter Ingram (72) and Moritz Hartman (70).

Several players were unavailable for the match.

William Young, Tom Bruce and Sam Fastier all have university commitments, while others not making the trip north include Jamie Watkins, Ryan Watson and Dean Robinson.

Watson is involved with a New Zealand under-19 training camp in Christchurch, while Robinson has been in camp with the Central Districts Stags in Palmerston North this week.

Another involved with the Stags camp, James McDougall, has been included for the match against Waikato Valley.

Both McDougall and Robinson will play for their clubs tomorrow.

Taranaki: Peter Ingram (captain), Dion Ebrahim, James McDougall, Moritz Hartman, Robert McLeod, Rupert Young, Hayden McIntyre, Shaun Sullivan, Trent McGrath, Matt Thomas, John Dickson, Warwick Millar. Coach, Debu Banik.

Taranaki Daily News