Double champion starts with ominous displays

16:00, Jan 28 2014
Ngaire Cowan
PUT YOUR LEFT LEG IN: Palmerston North skip Ngaire Cowan gets into the swing of things on day one of the Taranaki Open fours women’s bowls tournament at the New Plymouth greens. Cowan and her team won both their games.

Two-time winner Shona Chambers sounded an early warning with two convincing wins on day one of the Taranaki Open fours women's bowls tournament.

Chambers and her team from the Browns Bay club on the North Shore opened section play in the TSB Bank-sponsored event with a 24-16 win over Hawera's Jane Augustine at the Inglewood greens yesterday.

In the afternoon, the visitors were too strong for a Lepperton combination skipped by Pauline Davy winning 26-13.

Kristin Stampa and her champion team from last year, also opened with two convincing wins.

The Hawera Park four beat Paritutu's Valda Rowan 31-21 in the morning round at Lepperton and then downed another Paritutu four skipped by Viv Colson 27-16.

Other double winners included three-time winner Ellie Goble from Lepperton, Joan Richards (Fitzroy), Gale Melrose (Birkenhead), Joan Barrett (Opunake), Ngaire Cowen (Palmerston North), Val McEldowney (Paritutu) and Bowls New Zealand president Ann Muir from Kensington.


Fay Bird and her team from Central Cambridge opened with a 28-22 win over Paritutu's Cathy Andrews, then dropped their afternoon game to Debbie Wilford giving the Paritutu four their second win of the day.

Inglewood's Joy Orr bounced back from a hefty morning loss to Melrose (27-13) to beat West End's Laureen Bright 32-12, as did Mt Maunganui's Dianne Hazelton with a second-round 30-19 win over West End's Barbara Gopperth.

Among those to lose both their games on day one were Judy Cato and her team from Ohaupo, Stratford-Avon's Irene Poletti and Ohope's Martie Sisson.

Teams need four wins or more from six games to qualify for post-section play starting on Friday.

Results from the first day's play in the TSB Bank Taranaki Open fours women's bowls tournament yesterday:

Section one at Fitzroy

Round one: V Webster (Vogeltown) 19 E Ryan (Te Atatu Peninsula) 18, G Riddle (Lepperton) 25 B Bishop (Paritutu) 24, D Wilford (Paritutu) 26 M Hickey (Mt Maunganui) 20, F Bird (Central Cambridge) 28 C Andrews (Paritutu) 22, V Fleming (New Plymouth) 29 J Collins (Opunake) 17, J Richards (Fitzroy) 35 L Bright (West End) 9, G Melrose (Birkenhead) 27 J Orr (Inglewood) 13.

Round two: Richards 19 Ryan 18, Andrews 22 Riddle 8, Collins 26 Hickey 24, Wilford 27 Bird 17, Melrose 26 Fleming 16, Orr 32 Bright 12, Webster 26 Bishop 11.

Section two at Inglewood

Round one: J Barrett (Opunake) 23 J Cato (Ohaupo) 21, A Cargo (New Plymouth) 28 M Fleming (West End) 21, N Meads (Palmerston North) 30 J Half (New Plymouth) 17, R Walsh (Paritutu) 24 M Crowe (Tawa) 15, E Lyes (Fitzroy) 30 P Davy (Lepperton) 20, J Gaines (Paritutu) 24 G Fache (Vogeltown) 23, S Chambers (Browns Bay) 24 J Augustine (Hawera) 16.

Round two:Gaines 22 Cato 9, Walsh 23 Fleming 20, Lyes 21 Meads 17, Crowe 25 Half 16, Chambers 26 Davy 13, Fache 25 Augustine 19, Barrett 20 Cargo 18.

Round two

Section three at New Plymouth

Round one: N Cowen (Palmerston North)31 B Gopperth (West End) 19, B Robinson (Opunake) 23 D Hazelton (Mt Maunganui) 21, S Edwards (Helensville) 24 C Wilkinson (Tawa) 13, H Thomas (New Plymouth) 27 G Shaw (Paritutu) 19, G Reweti (Hawera Park) 32 N Hewson (Lepperton) 12, D Turner (Hawera) 26 E Maulder (Paritutu) 18, M Drummond (Fitzroy) 28 L Johnstone (New Plymouth) 20.

Round two: Cowen 24 Maulder 21, Robinson 29 Shaw 20, Reweti 26 Edwards 20, Wilkinson 23 Thomas 22, Johnstone 25 Hewson 17, Turner 30 Drummond 13, Hazelton 30 Gopperth 19.

Section four at Paritutu

Round one: L Curry (Frankton Railway) 28 G Palmer (Fitzroy) 19, V McEldowney (New Plymouth) 27 A Loveridge (Castlecliff) 20, A Muir (Kensington) 26 N Barkla (Ohope) 13, T Howard (West End) 27 Y Standing (Paritutu) 18, F Parkes (Hawera) 31 L Poletti (Stratford-Avon) 8, J Mabey (Lepperton) 33 L James (West End) 6, C Nicoll (Inglewood) 26 Y Looney (Paritutu) 18.

Round two: Curry 29 James 16, McEldowney 28 Howard 8, Parkes 26 Barkla 11, Muir 28 Standing 19, Looney 27 Poletti 24, Mabey 24 Nicoll 14, Loveridge 25 Palmer 15.

Section five at Lepperton

Round one: M Koot (Fitzroy) 26 A Freemantle (Waipawa) 25, J Ropitini (West End) 36 A Searancke (Tawa) 9, E Goble (Lepperton) 32 M Sisson (Ohope) 9, M McCallum (Inglewood) 24 C Davidson (Northern) 20, K Stampa (Hawera Park) 31 V Rowan (Paritutu) 21, V Colson (Paritutu) 26 M Mawson (New Plymouth) 14.

Round two: Mawson 35 Freemantle 8, Ropitini 22 Koot 17, Searancke 22 Sisson 18, Goble 31 McCallum 9, Davidson 27 Rowan 7, Stampa 27 Colson 16.

Taranaki Daily News