Daryl Baird defending Westown Classic title

16:00, Feb 12 2014

A small field will compete in the 72-hole Westown Classic at the Westown Golf Club this weekend.

Defending men's champion Daryl Baird (Waitara) along with Tim White (Hawera), Jamie Reid (Fitzroy) and Kerry Otene (Inglewood) appear to be the best of the local players, while Matthew Morris (Hamilton) and Josh Rookes (Mt Maunganui) are definite title contenders.

The women's title in the Good Home Bar & Restaurant-sponsored event is likely to be a duel between Manaia's Celeste McLean and Westown's Rochelle Keegan, with Tyla Winter (Manaia) also a possible contender.

Taranaki representatives Fletcher Broderick (75-75-77-227, 39th=) and Sam Jones (71-77-80-228, 42nd=) finished well off the pace at the Grant Clements Memorial tournament at the Mt Maunganui Golf Club last weekend.

The 2014 title went to Bailey Smith (71-72-68-211) who won a sudden-death playoff over Sam Vincent (70-71-70-211) and Hayden Beard (71-69-71-211).

Former Taranaki reps Sanjay Modgill (73-74-69-216) and Steven Heyes (74-73-75-222) finished 10th equal and 23rd equal respectively.


The first round of the 2014 Taranaki men's handicap pennant competition was played last Sunday.

The Dow AgroSciences-sponsored event has attracted 23 club teams with 12 teams competing in the North Taranaki section and 11 in the Taranaki-wide section.

Defending champions Waverley got off to a perfect start with a convincing 6 -2 win over Te Ngutu, while other notable results in the Taranaki-wide section played at Waverley saw Pungarehu beat Opunake 6-3 and Stratford topple Fitzroy Two 6-3.

In North Taranaki section matches played at New Plymouth, Manukorihi Two were impressive 7-2 winners over Waitara One, while New Plymouth managed a rare win by edging out Kaitake One 5-4.

Taranaki professionals were in action last week with the start of the 2014 NZPGA tournament schedule. The $20,000 Eketahuna-Masterton Pro-am was won by Josh Geary (65-67-132), who shot a 10-under total for the 36-hole event.

Taranaki professional scores and positions were: Grant Moorhead (73-67-140, 9th=), Dominic Barson (70-71-141, 13th=), Patrick Moore (71-73-144, 21st=) and Blake Cowley (76-76-152, 34th).

The $10,000 Martinborough Pro-am was won by Josh Carmichael with a nine-under par round of 63. Taranaki results: Dominic Barson, Blake Cowley 72-13th=, Grant Moorhead 73-17th=, Patrick Moore 76-29th=.

The $10,000 Paraparaumu Pro-am was won by Harry Bateman with a four-under par round of 68.

Taranaki results: Dominic Barson 74-8th=, Blake Cowley 75-13th=, Patrick Moore 83-30th).

New Plymouth Golf Club member Paul Carrington notched up his second hole-in-one last Saturday. The 10-handicapper used a nine iron to hole out on the 116m par-three 14th hole at his home course.

Taranaki Daily News