Judges praise detail of Sumner home

21:00, Aug 03 2014
Canterbury House of the Year
SUPREME WINNER: The Sumner house that won the supreme award, Canterbury House of the Year.

Building a hillside house near the epicentre after the February 2011 earthquake sounds a tricky prospect.

Last night that finished home was named Canterbury Registered Master Builders' House of the Year.

Judges said the Sumner house, built in tilt-slab concrete and timber by Chris Beer Construction, was "incredibly well detailed" and of "extremely high quality".

Burwood HOUSE
STELLAR HOME: This house in Burwood, built by Mike Greer Homes, was the gold award winner in the $450,000 to $600,000 category.

As well as the supreme title, it took the awards for craftsmanship and best bathroom, and was named best house over $2 million.

The judges said the house's location meant damage from quakes and aftershocks plus restricted access, but the builders overcame the challenges to "create a flawless finished product".

The supreme renovation award went to another Christchurch hillside house, a family home in the suburb of Westmorland.


This home was extensively renovated by NZ Mainco.

Judges said the site was difficult and the builders "excelled in transposing the original build into a robust, modern home".

Awards were also given out in various price categories and for interior design, outdoor living, best showhome and best builder's own home.

Three weeks ago an Ashburton family home built by Jennian Homes, described by judges as "very liveable" with "superb" workmanship, won the supreme award for Mid and South Canterbury. The awards for the Marlborough, Nelson and West Coast region will be announced in Nelson this evening.

Supreme winners from all regions will compete for the New Zealand title in November. Last year's Canterbury winner, a luxury house in Fendalton in Christchurch, went on to win the 2013 national supreme award.

The awards are judged mainly on workmanship but also on design, functionality and style. They are separate from those given annually by the New Zealand Institute of Architects and Architectural Designers New Zealand.

The Press