Chch Silver Scroll finalists

The Eastern, Cairo Knife Fight in APRA finals

Last updated 11:58 09/07/2012
the eastern std
Iain McGregor

FINALIST: The Eastern's Adam McGrath (pictured) is one of several Christchurch musicians that have made the finals in the 2012 APRA Silver Scroll.

GOING WELL: Lindon Puffin is a finalist for his song Outta Reach from his album Hope Holiday.

Relevant offers

Christchurch Music

The Cuban Brothers to perform three dates in New Zealand Jamie Lawson returns to Christchurch for solo show Christchurch Museum's commemorative exhibition offers plenty National Morris Dancing Tour to showcase Canterbury creativity Sol3 Mio deliver festive show with oodles of charm Shapeshifter, Kora, Ladi6 headline new event in Hagley Park Salsa duet takes girls to silver Cold Chisel: One Night Stand Concert Review: Christchurch City Choir, Messiah Music venue Allen St Live's owners 'deliberately trying to destroy the business'

Five Christchurch musicians are finalists in the 2012 APRA Silver Scroll awards announced today.

Lindon Puffin, Lauren Mitchell, The Eastern's Adam McGrath, and Aaron Tokona and Nick Gaffaney, of Cairo Knife Fight, feature as finalists.

The list of 20 songs judged as the nation's best over the past year have been compiled by an anonymous panel of APRA (Australasian Performing Right Association) members.

More than 8000 members of the association will vote on the song they believe has the best songwriting, and five finalists will be revealed in August.

''I actually entered Adam's song; he doesn't know anything about it,'' Puffin said.

''He doesn't like competitions but I knew he had a great song, so I entered it. Hopefully he doesn't mind. I'm stoked one of my songs is a finalist, too.''

Tokona and Gaffaney are finalists for their hard-hitting The Origin of Slaves, McGrath is a finalist for the song State Houses By The River, while Lauren Mitchell, who performs as LA Mitchell, is a finalist for When It's All Too Much.

Puffin is a finalist for Outta Reach off his album, Hope Holiday.

''Things are starting to go well,'' Puffin said.

''I'm in talks for one of my songs to be used with the TV show Weeds and we're in the middle of organising a big tour; Adam, me, Marlon Williams and a few others.''

Other finalists include songs from Southland songstress Annah Mac, Home Brew, Opossom, The Adults, Six60 and Bic Runga.

The winner will be announced at an event at the Auckland Town Hall on Thursday, September 13, which will also feature the finalists' songs covered by other New Zealand artists, in keeping with a long-standing tradition.

The gala ceremony will also include the APRA Maioha Award and the SOUNZ Contemporary Award, for most-performed works in New Zealand and overseas, and an induction to the New Zealand Music Hall of Fame.

APRA Silver Scroll 2012 finalists:

The Origin Of Slaves, written by Nick Gaffaney and Aaron Tokona (Cairo Knife Fight)

When It's All Too Much, written by Lauren Mitchell (LA Mitchell)

State Houses By The River, written by Adam McGrath (The Eastern)

Outta Reach, written by Lindon McCormack (Lindon Puffin)

Girl In Stilettos, written by Anna Macdonald (Annah Mac)

Never Be Without You, written by Ben King (Grand Rapids)

Everything is Beautiful and New, written by Bic Runga (Bic Runga)

Datura, written by Tom Scott and Hayden Dick (Home Brew)

Lead Me To The Light, written by Hayden Donnell (Great North)

Blind Eyes, written by Lisa Crawley (Lisa Crawley)

Hibernate, written by Lydia Cole (Lydia Cole)

Getaway Tonight, written by Kody Nielson (Opossom)

Water To Ice, written by Jane de Jong (Ruby Frost)

Fatal Flaw, written by Louis McDonald, Adam Quigley and Levi Heeringa (Five Mile Town)

Hold On, written by Josh Fountain (Get Well Soon)

Ad Feedback

Hopeful Dreamer, written by Jess Chambers (Jess Chambers)

By Your Side, written by Jesse Sheehan (Jesse Sheehan)

Anniversary Day, written by Jon Toogood and Julia Deans (The Adults)

Everything To Me, written by Stephanie Brown (Lips)

Forever, written by Matiu Walters and Marlon Gerbes (Six60)

- The Press


Special offers

Featured Promotions

Sponsored Content