The Press honoured by multiple awards

21:01, May 18 2012

The Press has won a string of major titles at the annual Canon Media Awards, announced in Auckland last night.

It was named Newspaper of the Year (over 30,000 circulation), winning the award from finalists The New Zealand Herald and The Waikato Times.

Martin van Beynen dominated the individual categories. He was named Senior Reporter of the Year and Senior Newspaper Feature Writer of the Year, and awarded the prestigious Wolfson Fellow to Cambridge University, which allows him to study at the university next year.

Olivia Carville also received a major accolade when she was named Junior Reporter of the Year.

Other individual winners were Daniel Tobin for Best Video, Vicki Anderson for Reporter – Arts & Entertainment, and Bruce Rennie for Editorial Writer of the Year.

For the second year in a row, The Press also won Best Newspaper Design, and Best Website Breaking News Coverage.


The paper also had a number of finalists: Malcolm Evans, cartoonist; Vicki Anderson, reviewer; John McCrone, senior newspaper feature writer and feature writer science and environment; Beck Eleven, feature writer human relations; Tony Smith, feature writer sport; Richard Cosgrove, best news picture; Iain McGregor, best photo essay or slideshow.

The newspaper's editor, Andrew Holden, said he was delighted for the individual winners and finalists, and the Newspaper of the Year award was recognition of a remarkable team effort throughout the year.

"We know from our readers how surprised and thankful they were that we produced a paper on February 23. I still can't quite fathom how our drivers managed to get around those broken streets to deliver so many papers.

"Martin's multiple awards recognise a journalist at the top of the profession, Liv produced some amazing work, and the other successes and nominations demonstrate how fortunate we are in Christchurch with such a talented and committed newsroom."

The general manager, Andrew Boyle, said the major award recognised "the efforts from all departments of The Press in very difficult circumstances".

"We leave our 'portacabin city' in Harewood very soon, and we will always look back on the past year as an extraordinary period in our lives and careers.

"In turn, we want to thank our readers. Your support and encouragement is what gives us the determination to keep producing a great newspaper and website, no matter whether it is shakes or snow that provide that extra challenge."

The Canon award for New Zealand media follows The Press's success at the Pacific Area Newspaper Publishers Association awards for 2011, when The Press was also named Newspaper of the Year in the 25,000-90,000 circulation category against daily newspapers throughout Australia and Southeast Asia.

The Press