Two NZ First MPs for Christchurch

Last updated 23:54 26/11/2011
Denis O'Rourke
Richard Prosser
NEWCOMER: Richard Prosser

Relevant offers

Election 2011

Christchurch MPs welcome Shearer City gains two new Cabinet portfolios City's newest MP doubted her chances Christchurch MPs quiet on leadership Leadership candidates to lock horns tonight Burns just ahead of Wagner in polling Greens staff shaken as party office trashed Dalziel doesn't rule out mayoralty bid Iwi keen on slice of asset-sale action MP philosophical about chances

Two of New Zealand First's eight MPs in the new Parliament will be from Christchurch.

NZ First MPs Denis O'Rourke and Richard Prosser will be joining Winston Peter's cabinet after NZ First's election comeback last night.

NZ First had not been in Parliament since losing the Tauranga electorate in the last election and failing to reach the 5% popular vote threshold required.

Denis O'Rourke has been a Christchurch City councillor for 15 years from 1989 to 2004, chairing the Sustainable Transport and Utilities Committee.

He ran unsuccessfully this election as a candidate for the Port Hills electorate, getting 636 votes.

Richard Prosser ran unsuccessfully as a candidate for the Waimakariri electorate, getting 538 votes.

Ad Feedback

- The Press


Special offers
Opinion poll

How do you feel about the Christchurch election results?



A bit of both

It does not affect me

Vote Result

Related story: Swing to National 'sign of good will'

Featured Promotions

Sponsored Content