Jackman, Dickson in mix for series action

Two Canterbury players have been named in a provisional All Blacks sevens squad for the Wellington leg of the world series circuit.

Wing Mark Jackman, a Mid-Canterbury product who has played at national provincial championship level for Hawke's Bay, and West Melton's Canterbury Country flanker Sam Dickson are in contention for the February 1-2 tournament.

Jackman and Dickson are both New Zealand sevens-contracted players.

Crusaders wider training group member Kurt Baker, a fullback from Taranaki, is also in the team captained by D J Forbes.

Coach Gordon Tietjens will reduce his squad from 19 to 12 players on Monday.

Meanwhile, Canterbury back Kendra Cocksedge is one of five Black Ferns introduced to the New Zealand women's sevens squad for a world series tournament in Houston, Texas, next week.

Coach Sean Horan selected Cocksedge, Manawatu duo Shakira Baker and Selica Winiata and Otago pair Halie Hurring and Kelly Brazier to join six players who won the first world series tournament in Dubai last month.

Waikato's Honey Hireme has been called up after a strong performance at the national tournament in last weekend's national tournament in Queenstown.

The squads are:-

Men: Kurt Baker (Taranaki), Tomasi Cama, Scott Curry (Manawatu), Sam Dickson (Canterbury), Matt Faddes (Otago), D J Forbes (Counties Manukau), Mark Jackman (Canterbury), Rocky Khan (Auckland), Gillies Kaka (Hawke's Bay), Warwick Lahmert (Taranaki), Milford Keresoma, Ben Lam (Auckland), Tim Mikkelson, Luke Masirewa (Waikato), Lote Raikabula (Wellington), David Raikuna (North Harbour), Trinity Spooner-Neera (Hawke's Bay), Sherwin Stowers (Counties Manukau), Belgium Tuatagaloa (Wellington). Toby Arnold (Wellington) not considered due to injury.

Women: rugby squad: Shakira Baker (Manawatu), Kelly Brazier (Otago), Kendra Cocksedge (Canterbury), Sarah Goss (Manawatu), Linda Itunu (Auckland), Honey Hireme (Waikato), Carla Hohepa (Waikato), Halie Hurring (Otago), Huriana Manuel (Auckland, captain), Kayla McAlister (Auckland), Selica Winiata (Manawatu), Portia Woodman (Auckland).

The Press