Southern RPC power to premier titles

The Southern RPC squad won the men's and women's premier eight titles while Avon claimed the champion club award at the National Rowing Championships on Lake Ruataniwha.

Stroked by London Olympics gold medallist Hamish Bond, the men's eight won in 5min 40.77sec to clinch the Alan Boykett Memorial Trophy on Saturday.

Red coats were awarded to Armin Svoboda Jr, Jared Glue, Mark O'Connor and coxswain Sam Bosworth.

Southern RPC won the premier women's eight, for the third successive year, by five seconds from Central RPC, with Waikato RPC last of the three-crew field.

However, the men relied on a late charge, with their rating pushing 40 to earn a narrow win.

Southern, with Kristen Froude in the stroke seat, led the women's race from the start and looked comfortable winning by a boat length.

Central, stroked by Rebecca Scown, lifted the rating but were only ever going to be racing for the silver.

Red coats were awarded to Lucy Strack and Froude.

Olympic double sculls gold medallist Nathan Cohen (Southern RPC) showed he was no slouch in the solo boat, with a heart-stopping victory in the premier single sculls final in Twizel.

Blenheim's Robbie Manson had a strong first 1000m before his New Zealand quadruple sculls team-mate, Aucklander Michael Arms, charged home to have his measure.

However, Cohen's experience and superior finish stole the title from the young duo.

Cohen won the New Zealand Male Rower of the Year Award.

Emma Twigg claimed her fifth consecutive women's premier single title after a convincing 5sec win over Southern's Olympian, Fiona Bourke, with Waikato's Genevieve Armstrong third.

Auckland RPC team-mates Kelsey Bevan and Kayla Pratt were jointly awarded the Female Rower of the Year Award.

Waihopai won the women's senior eight event while a fast-finishing Hawke's Bay won the men's senior eight.

Christchurch club Avon easily won the Centennial Oar for the best performing club at the regatta.

Avon celebrated double success in the novice eights, winning the men's and women's titles.

The Press