Sydenham snare semi spot

05:48, Aug 04 2012

Sydenham have picked up the last semifinal spot in Christchurch club rugby's Hawkins Trophy round with a 45-point win.

Sydenham beat New Brighton 55-10 at Rugby Park jumping them from fifth to third and setting up a semifinal next week with University.

University drew 25-25 with Marist Albion at Ilam Park.

Marist Albion started the round tied with Sydenham and needed a win to keep alive their playoff chances.

But the were down 18-6 at halftime and struggling.

They turned down multiple shots at goal and three second half tries gave them a lead and a sniff at the playoffs.


Marist Albion were up 25-18 with just seconds remaining, but University captain Matt Moulds went over and the Andy Ireland conversion tied the game up.

There was a whopping 10 more minutes played before the match was eventually ended with a knock on.

Top qualifiers Burnside reached the semis with momentum on their side, beating High School Old Boys 43-20 at Burnside Park.

The two teams will play again next week in the 1 v 4 semi while University will host Sydenham in the 2 v 3 game.

Marist Albion will host Linwood and New Brighton will host Christchurch in the Hawkins Plate semifinals after Christchurch and Linwood finished on top of section two.

Christchurch beat Linwood 25-9 today to top the section while Sumner beat Belfast 14-13 and Shirley beat Lincoln University 26-17.

Shirley finish third in section two and become the top seeds in the Hawkins Bowl.

They play Sumner next week after the seasiders won their second game of the season yet still finished at the foot of the table.

Belfast host Lincoln Uni in the other match.


Division One: Section One - Sydenham 55 New Brighton 10, Burnside 43 HSOB 20, University 25 Marist Albion 25.

Section Two - Shirley 26 Lincoln Uni 17, Christchurch 25 Linwood 9, Sumner 14 Belfast 13.

Division Two: New Brighton 22 Christchurch 3, Burnside 19 University 10, Lincoln University 20 Suburbs 19, Lyttelton 26 HSOB 12, Shirley 22 Belfast 12, Linwood 23 Sumner 17, Sydenham 29 Marist Albion 10.

The Press