Timaru Herald FAQ

HOW DO I PHONE THE TIMARU HERALD?

Main office: 687 1300
Advertising: 687 1304
Classifieds: 687 1395
Newsroom: 687 1350 (Timaru Herald, Central South Island Farmer, Waitaki Herald)

DO YOU HAVE A FAX?

Yes. (03) 688 1042


WHAT'S YOUR EMAIL?

Advertising: thads@timaruherald.co.nz
Classifieds: thclass@timaruherald.co.nz
Newsroom (Timaru): editor@timaruherald.co.nz
Newsroom (Oamaru): newsroom@waitakiherald.co.nz


WHAT'S YOUR POSTAL ADDRESS?

The Timaru Herald
PO Box 46
Timaru
7910


HOW CAN I SHARE A NEWS TIP?

Reach the newsroom on 687 1350. You can email reporters on editor@timaruherald.co.nz or write a message for us on our Facebook page.

Ad Feedback



WHERE IS YOUR OFFICE IN TIMARU?

19 Sophia St, Timaru


WHERE IS YOUR OFFICE IN OAMARU?

Currently our office in Oamaru is closed. For Waitaki Herald questions, please call 03 687 1300.

 

HOW DO I SUBSCRIBE TO THE TIMARU HERALD?

Fairfax Media produces a number of newspapers and magazines in New Zealand. Now you can set up a subscription via the internet. Just visit mags4gifts.co.nz/

Or phone 0800 339 100 or email subscribers@fairfaxmedia.co.nz for more information.


HOW DO I REPORT A TIMARU HERALD MISSED DELIVERY?

Phone 0800 339 100.

Subscribers in Timaru, Temuka and Geraldine who call between 7.15am and 9am (Monday to Saturday) can arrange a re-delivery. If you have any problems with the 0800 number, give Judy a call on (03) 687 1323 between 8am and 12pm (Monday to Friday).

 

MY SOUTH CANTERBURY HERALD/WAITAKI HERALD WASN'T DELIVERED. WHERE DO I REPORT THAT?

Please fill out this form at www.fixmydelivery.co.nz


HOW DO I PUT MY PAPER ON HOLD?

0800 339 100. Or manage your subscription through my.stuff.co.nz


HOW DO I RE-START DELIVERY OF MY PAPER?

Phone 0800 339 100 or email circulation@timaruherald.co.nz or, if you sign in as a subscriber, you can make use of my.stuff.co.nz to organise your account


CAN I BUY PHOTOS I SEE IN THE PAPER?

Yes, some of the photos that appear in The Timaru Herald can be bought. For inquiries about photo sales, please email photosales@fairfaxmedia.co.nz

Requests for use of Fairfax copyrighted photos, articles and video, can be sent to: syndication@fairfaxmedia.co.nz

Or, pop into our office at 19 Sophia St in Timaru and talk to staff at the counter.


WHAT IS THE PIC OF THE DAY?

Every day we run a photo in the newspaper, usually supplied by a member of the public, as our Pic of the Day. Send photos to editor@timaruherald.co.nz for consideration. Size is important. To run in print file should be 1MB or bigger. Photos will be cropped to fit a horizontal shape.

 


HOW DO I ADVERTISE WITH THE TIMARU HERALD?

★ For advertising information, contact our sales team on 03 687 1300.

★ For classified ads (births, marriages, garage sales, personal ads, etc), contact 687 1395.

 

I DON'T LIVE IN SOUTH CANTERBURY. HOW CAN I READ THE NEWSPAPER?

Keep up-to-date with South Canterbury news by checking The Timaru Herald website which has news stories and family notices. If you want the whole newspaper package, why not subscribe to receive a digital edition on your PC or tablet?

 

HOW CAN I READ THE NEWSPAPER WHEN I'M ON HOLIDAY?

If you're a subscriber to the newspaper, you can arrange to get digital edition downloads.


WHO DO I CONTACT WHEN THERE'S A PROBLEM WITH MY DIGITAL EDITION DOWNLOAD?

Email digitaleditions@fairfaxmedia.co.nz


HOW CAN I CONTACT THE SOUTH CANTERBURY HERALD NEWSROOM?

Easy as. We all work together. Just phone the Timaru newsroom on 687 1350 or email scheditor@timaruherald.co.nz


HOW CAN I CONTACT THE WAITAKI HERALD NEWSROOM?

Just phone (03) 697 1350 or email newsroom@waitakiherald.co.nz


ARE YOU ON SOCIAL MEDIA?

Yes. We have Facebook pages for The Timaru Herald and the Waitaki Herald. We tweet Timaru headlines from @TimaruHerald.


CAN WE GET A PHOTOGRAPHER TO OUR EVENT?

Thanks for telling us - we appreciate hearing from you and we'll put your event on our list. While we attempt to cover as many events as we can, we do have to prioritise.


HOW DO I SUBMIT A LETTER?

The Timaru Herald welcomes letters to the editor from all readers. Letters can be posted or emailed in (put "Letter to the editor" in the subject line to help us identify it).

Please take time to read the rules before submitting correspondence for consideration.

Letters are welcome, but writers must provide their name, address and telephone number as a sign of good faith - pseudonyms are not acceptable.*

So that as many letters as possible can be published, each letter should be no more than 250 words. We reserve the right to edit letters for length, sense, legal reasons and on grounds of good taste.

Postal address
Editor
The Timaru Herald
PO Box 46
Timaru

Fax: (03) 688 1042

* Remember, we need your name, address and phone number.

WHO'S IN THE NEWSROOM?

Regional Editor
Sarah Jarvis
sarah.jarvis@fairfaxmedia.co.nz
(03) 687 1343

Chief News Director
Stu Oldham
stu.oldham@fairfaxmedia.co.nz
(03) 687 1307

News Directors

Grant Shimmin
grant.shimmin@fairfaxmedia.co.nz
(03) 687 1321

Brooke Gardiner
brooke.gardiner@fairfaxmedia.co.nz
(03) 687 1342

Reporters

Ben Aulakh
ben.aulakh@fairfaxmedia.co.nz
(03) 687 1325

Daisy Hudson
daisy.hudson@fairfaxmedia.co.nz
(03) 687 1315

Esther Ashby-Coventry
esther@fairfaxmedia.co.nz
(03) 687 1318

Helen Tatham
helen.tatham@fairfaxmedia.co.nz
(03) 687 3162

Koren Allpress
koren.allpress@fairfaxmedia.co.nz
(03) 687 1320

Liam Cavanagh
liam.cavanagh@fairfaxmedia.co.nz
(03) 687 1303

Ryan Dunlop
ryan.dunlop@fairfaxmedia.co.nz

Tess Brunton
t.brunton@fairfaxmedia.co.nz
(03) 687 1336

Farming reporter

Pat Deavoll
pat.deavoll@fairfaxmedia.co.nz
(03) 687 1348

Sports writer
Brayden Lindsay
brayden.lindsay@fairfaxmedia.co.nz
(03) 687 1354

Senior sports writer
Stu Piddington
stu.piddington@fairfaxmedia.co.nz
(03) 687 1351

Chief photographer
John Bisset
john.bisset@fairfaxmedia.co.nz
(03) 687 1328

Tetsuro Mitomo
tetsuro.mitomo@fairfaxmedia.co.nz
(03) 687 1339

HOW OLD IS THE TIMARU HERALD?

We've been around since 1864. For key milestones in our history, check out this page.

 - Stuff

Ad Feedback
special offers
Ad Feedback