Janie Annear lands Aoraki Polytechnic Council role

23:41, May 01 2014
janie annear
FORMER MAYOR: Janie Annear is taking on a new role as chairwoman of the Aoraki Polytechnic Council.

Former Timaru District mayor Janie Annear has been appointed chairperson of the Aoraki Polytechnic Council.

Tertiary Education, Skills and Employment Minister Steven Joyce announced the appointments yesterday.

Annear will replace outgoing chairperson Kevin Cosgrove, who is retiring from the council along with deputy chairperson Gerald Morton and council member Carole Brand.

Anne Marett is the new deputy chairperson and Stella Sweney has been appointed to the board.

Robin Kilworth and Rob Smith have been reappointed to the board.

Aoraki Polytechnic chief executive Alex Cabrera acknowledged the contributions of Cosgrove, Morton and Brand.


''We are very grateful for the contributions the outgoing Council members have made, particularly given the challenging times Aoraki has faced over the recent past,'' Cabrera said.

''They have helped steer us to a positive, new phase of sustainability and relevance that gives the Aoraki region a strong regional training provider, focused on regional needs.

''The new council members bring skills and experience we need for the very different future that we face - as we cement new partnerships that offer our students greater and more extended learning opportunities, more support and a greater focus on the skills that will support regional economic growth.''

On the back of financial and student losses, Aoraki Polytechnic has undergone significant changes over the past 18 months, including two rounds of redundancies.

It has also formed collaborations with CPIT, Lincoln University and Otago Polytechnic.

The Timaru Herald