Aoraki Foundation takes top award

20:56, Jul 14 2014

The supreme winner of the 2014 Trustpower Timaru District Community Awards announced last night was Aoraki Foundation, a charitable foundation connecting contributors with organisations.

Mayor Damon Odey spoke of the worthiness of volunteers at the annual Timaru District Council Community Awards to recipients alongside company representatives who presented the awards to deserving members and groups in recognition of their voluntary service.

Individuals and groups were acknowledged at the ceremony held at the Timaru District Council chambers.

The recipients for the 2014 Timaru District Community Awards individual category and their main associations were:

Bill Begg, skating.

Stephen Casey, Aaron Otley Memorial Trust.


Susan Coker, Pleasant Point Rugby Football Club.

Don Garland, athletics and rugby.

Ron Heney, Hospital Radio.

Terry Kennedy, promoting the area and chairing council committees.

Isobel Mayman, Plunket Family Care Committee.

David Wolff, music.

The recipients of the 2014 Trustpower Timaru District Community Awards were:

Youth Community Spirit Award: Winner, Kimberley Kirkaldie (Opihi College); runner up, Sean Mulligan (Geraldine High School).

Heritage and Environment Award: Joint winners, Geraldine Historical Society Museum); Pleasant Point Railway and Historical Society Inc.

Health and Wellbeing Award: Winner, Aoraki Foundation (supreme award); runner up, Presbyterian Support South Canterbury; commendation, Order of St John).

Arts and Culture Award: Winner, Plunket Art Show Fundraising Committee; runner up, In Harmony Choir.

Sport and Leisure Award: Winner, Pleasant Point Rugby Football Club 125th Jubilee Committee; runner up, Central South Island Charity Bike Ride; Education and Child Youth Development Award, winner, Mid South Canterbury Life Education Trust.

The Timaru Herald