Rugby club lauds 'fantastic' community support

The Mackenzie Rugby Club welcomed more than 100 players, partners, sponsors, life members and supporters to their 61st annual prizegiving.

President Mitch Taylor said it was a reasonably successful season with the seniors getting their best placing for 10 years and the B team winning the Bob Bray Cup for the first time in nine years.

Community support was fantastic, especially over the last few weeks around semifinal time when the whole district was abuzz, and that showed on the sideline and in the clubrooms.

Guest speaker, former world champion speed skater Nicole Begg, spoke of sacrifices she and her family went through and her dream to be a champion and to get to the top of her sport.

Prize winners for 2014 were:

Under 18

Scott Challenge (most promising player): Ben Johnson.

Mackenzie RFC Trophy (most valuable player): Ethan Dickson.

Brown Hill Trophy (player of the year): Ethan Dickson.

Under 20

Edge Challenge Trophy (contributes most on and off the field): Craig Leslie.

Ashfield Cup (most promising player): Brandon Gaustad

Erin Challenge Trophy (player of the year): George Lott.

Senior B

Griggs Memorial Trophy (most promising player): Mark Jorgenson.

Hughes Trophy (most improved player): Rory Sinclair.

Stewart Memorial Trophy (contributes most on and off the field): Mitch Dunbar.

Coleman Tankard (supporters' player of year): Adam Gage.

Searle Shell Case (most points): Adam Bishell.

Airies Challenge Trophy (player of year): Adam Gage.


Anderson/Glass Trophy (most promising forward): BJ Oliver.

Munro Family Trophy (most promising back): George Lott.

Nana's Backpackers Cup (most travelled player): George Williams.

Anderson Bros Trophy Horns (most dedicated): Jarrad Blackler.

Naughton Memorial Cup (most committed): Sam Forsyth.

O'Donnell & Spalding Trophy (contributes most on and off field): Henry Callaghan.

Williams Challenge Trophy (player of the year): Stu Cartwright.

MRFC trophies:

Parker Challenge Cup (most points below senior B): Under 14 .

Mackenzie Supply Services Trophy & World Cup Trophy 1987 (best performed team): Seniors.

Hamilton Cook Cup (best turned out): Seniors.

Casey Bros Trophy (best tackler): Fa'aitu Tuamoheloa.

Dwan Memorial Trophy (best non-playing member): Justin Geary.

The Timaru Herald